Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
102 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How effective do you think snikrott ambushing with grotsnikk to give all the kommandoes a 5+/4+ would be? I think id toss a warboss into that unit as well. giving me 2 claws and some pretty hard kommandos and snikrot behind enemy lines.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
187 Posts
ye it would be a devastating squad but it would leave your men to suffer without HQs to help them,

P.S. should you have posted this here
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,927 Posts
Wait, doesn't Grotsnik cancel out the Outflank rule? I'm probably missing something though.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
50 Posts
There is no Entry for him not being able to ambush or outflank in the codex. He grants any unit he's with Fearless and he must move as quick as possible to the nearest enemy unit and assault it if possible. He also can't leave a unit but /shrug
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
12,830 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
17 Posts
I would think that 2 PKs coming in wherever you want them too would be great, and thanks to Grotsnik, they may last more than a turn.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
221 Posts
Vas you are incorrect according to tournament rules. This is due to Snikrot's RaW: Ambush gives the ability to his unit thus the boss gets it as well if he is part of the unit. RaI may be the other way, but you must play RaW when you can.

I have run Ghazskull and Snikrot... It is cruel and funny to play.

If I could be bothered I would link you to all the tournament rules. I have also asked the red shirts close to me and they all agree (about 20 or so guys), it is a pain in the ass rule, but it is a very real and scary way to make a list

Also if you go searching on these interwebs you will see most forums have had this arguement (Warseer, LO, dakkadakka) and they have all come up 1 way. Snikrot can roll with a HQ from behind.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
17 Posts
I would be interseted in seeing a list that uses this combo in action. Its definately sounds deadly. Is anyone going to try it?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,372 Posts
Vas you are incorrect according to tournament rules. This is due to Snikrot's RaW: Ambush gives the ability to his unit thus the boss gets it as well if he is part of the unit. RaI may be the other way, but you must play RaW when you can.

I have run Ghazskull and Snikrot... It is cruel and funny to play.

If I could be bothered I would link you to all the tournament rules. I have also asked the red shirts close to me and they all agree (about 20 or so guys), it is a pain in the ass rule, but it is a very real and scary way to make a list

Also if you go searching on these interwebs you will see most forums have had this arguement (Warseer, LO, dakkadakka) and they have all come up 1 way. Snikrot can roll with a HQ from behind.
It's actually not well specified in the rules as written. Most tournaments FAQ that snikrot and ICs cannot be combined.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
221 Posts
I knew this would happen. This argument goes around way too often and is never truly resolved.

Culler, a year ago you pointed out Adepticon

Fun thing I found, in the Adepticon INATFAQ (the FAQ used by Adepticon, pretty much the biggest warhammer tournament, and generally pretty widely accepted in the tournament scene, specifies that ICs joining a painboy's unit do get FNP. (In the Ork section)

http://www.adepticon.org/files/INATFAQv2.2.pdf

Oh, it also specifies that no one can join Snikrot's unit and benefit from Ambush.
I found the latest one because I knew they changed their minds

http://www.adepticon.org/wpfiles/inat/INATFAQv4.1.pdf

Take a look

ORK.62C.01 – Q: Can an Independent Character (such as a Warboss on a bike) join Snikrot‟s unit before the game and arrive with them via „Ambush‟?\

A: Yes, as Snikrot‟s ability applies to the unit (which a joined IC is part of) [clarification].
Ref: BA.43E.01, IG.71F.01, ORK.38A.01, ORK.59A.01, RB.48B.02, SM.55A.01, SM.92.01, TYR.52C.02, TYR.62F.01

Thank you and good night
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,372 Posts
I found the latest one because I knew they changed their minds
Like I said, it's not well defined. Without an official GW FAQ we'll see rulings one way and the other.

As far as the ambush plan goes, sinking almost 600 points into a unit that won't show up for a while (especially if your opponent is messing with your reserves rolls) and can't threaten the center when they show up is a risky gambit but should pay decent dividends. I'm thinking just Grotsnik attached would be the better way to go.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
50 Posts
The danger of bringing grotsnik is not having the ability to choose which unit Snikrot would attack. The ideal use of ambush being to obliterate a high payout target and not simply attacking whatever is at hand or whatever you get screened with. And attaching Grazzy is risky because slow and purposeful could really backfire on you IE failing the assault because your move roll blew and staring at bad end of a termy squads crumpin range. Warbosses on bikes or just klaws seems a better use of both points and the kommandos.
 
1 - 14 of 14 Posts
Top