Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm putting my army list together and I had a quick question on SM's use of teleporters and teleporter homers

the rule book appears to say "the teleport homer must be on the board before the movement phase starts"

does that mean that whoever has it need to set it down on the board (ie some action of physically putting it down and waiting for the next turn)

or

that the player who has it must be in play on the board
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thanks.....

but I forgot to ask... I'm assuming the teleport counts as movement, but can your termies shoot and attack on that same move??
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
134 Posts
I have been wrestling with this as well kujo, it's my understanding that they can shoot the same turn they teleport in, but not assault. Take that with a grain of salt though cause I am still very new to the game as well.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
811 Posts
[sarcasm]take it as standard that if something deep strikes, it cannot assault that turn, unless it is not space marine in origin.

you have to pay a price for having such a cool looking army.[/sarcasm]
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
6,544 Posts
If you read the deep strike rules, models which enter play using the Deep Strike rules count that as their movement, and cannot launch an assault. They CAN, however, shoot. Some of you may be familiar with the Deep Striking lone Obliterator who appears out of nowhere behind enemy lines, 6'' from the flank or rear of an armoured target, and subsequently zaps said armoured target with its twin-linked meltagun. A dirty trick, but then... Chaos is dirty.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
so then is teleporting a "one and done" thing so you can DS your troops into the game or would you be able to teleport the same squad around the table as needed
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,822 Posts
Viscount Vash said:
Yes,
The only thing that currently allows you to teleport more than once is the Necron Lords 'Veil of Darkness' which is a different kettle of fish.
Or the Space Wolves psychic power that does basically the same thing...............
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
Sorry to ressurect a thread, but I there's one point I've never been totally clear on about deepstrike, and it was brung up in this thread.

Does deepstrike take place at the begining of the turn, or does it count as a movement. Though the reserves rule says the reserves roll is made at the begining of the turn, nowhere is it specified what phase the reserves come on in.

The question this raises in gameplay is whether or not teleport homers can be used after the bearer has moved. Ie: can I move a unit then use it's teleport homer at their finishing location, or do I have to use the teleport homer before they move?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
804 Posts
From how ive understood the deep striking and daemon summoning rules(for chaos) you roll for reserves before anything else, and if they come into play its before anything else moves, but that still counts as their movement(unless its daemons, daemons still get their movement/assualt)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,615 Posts
Sorry to ressurect a thread, but I there's one point I've never been totally clear on about deepstrike, and it was brung up in this thread.

Does deepstrike take place at the begining of the turn, or does it count as a movement. Though the reserves rule says the reserves roll is made at the begining of the turn, nowhere is it specified what phase the reserves come on in.

The question this raises in gameplay is whether or not teleport homers can be used after the bearer has moved. Ie: can I move a unit then use it's teleport homer at their finishing location, or do I have to use the teleport homer before they move?
That's a really good question. The way I play it is that the reserves roll is made, that means I need to bring those troops into play, but I still get to choose which units I move first - so I can move the bikes-with-teleport-homer into position, then DS the Termies. Of course, that may not be the way it's meant to work...

 
1 - 19 of 19 Posts
Top