Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,615 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'll see your measly 6 traitorous Landraiders and raise you 2 Landraiders...

In a normal 1-FOC SM army, is it actually legal to field 8 Landraiders?

This comes down to the dedicated transport rule again - my understanding is that dedicated transports are those that are listed in the unit's transport options, and that these do not take an FOC slot.

In other words, any unit of infantry may take a Landraider (a tactical or dev squad, even Scouts, or de-jump-packed Assault Marines) but it uses a FOC slot. Terminators, on the other hand, may take Landraider without using up an FOC slot.

So...

HQ
Commander in term armour, terminator command squad, Landraider
Chaplain in term armour, terminator command squad, Landraider

Elite
Terminator squad, Landraider
Terminator squad, Landraider
Terminator squad, Landraider

Troop
Scout squad (bp+ccw)
Scout squad (bp+ccw)

Fast Attack
Assault marines (no jump packs)

Heavy support
Landraider
Landraider
Landraider

And that's legal?

I think I need to lie down...

 

·
Registered
Joined
·
176 Posts
Legal possibly but I've (saddly enough) owned cars that didn't cost as much (to build) as this army:laugh:
Just under $1000 (Canadian)...

It's a little one-dimensional, but it might be fun in Apocalypse.
 

·
Executive Nitpicker
Joined
·
8,276 Posts
OIf course at that points scale, it;s only really viablble at Apocalypse scale...at which point, you could just field a dozen land raiders as your army (assuming you had them) and not wporry about legality.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
135 Posts
"In other words, any unit of infantry may take a Landraider (a tactical or dev squad, even Scouts, or de-jump-packed Assault Marines) but it uses a FOC slot. Terminators, on the other hand, may take Landraider without using up an FOC slot."

So my Khorne Berzerkers can be mounted in a Land Raider from the start of the game and it just uses up a heavy support choice? If yes what does it set up as a heavy support or a troop?
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
6,544 Posts
Both, which is dirty. The Land Raider goes on the table as a Heavy Support choice. When you decide to deploy your berserkers in the Land Raider, all you have to do is say you've placed a unit in a non-dedicated transport.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
176 Posts
Why is that dirty?

It seems fair and reasonable to me that they might hitch a ride going into battle.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,988 Posts
It isn't all that dirty but it is getting you a lot more flexibility than with a dedicated transport. It makes a spacer in your deployment queue so you end up deploying the rest of your stuff knowing where one more enemy unit is deployed. In escalation games the squad deploys but the LR doesn't, when if it was a dedicated transport they would both be in reserve.

On the other hand the LR itself deploys at the start, since it's heavy support. Your opponent can see it and can probably see where you are trying to attack, so it's not all good.

8 is not the upper limit on LRs in one FOC anyway. For that you should probably check out the Black Templars book
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,615 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Thanks for you comments all:

@ Someguy, cheers for the tip, if I ever inherit a fortune and decide to really build a landraider army, I'll check out BT.

@ Galahad, yeah, it's not really intended as a viable list, more an idea in the mind of God. I have thought about is a component of an Apocalypse game, where it would obviously have to be backed up by... something that could shoot for instance, but the idea of this was just to check the legality with one FOC, rather than the sense!

@ Asmodai, as to Gal, even at Apocalypse it would need support. The idea was to taxi lots of cc-troops in landraiders, that's all. I wasn't assuming anyone would have anything more shooty than a stormbolter.

Thanks again for your interest chaps. Right, I'm off to work out a whole FOC of fire-support for these guys...

 
1 - 9 of 9 Posts
Top