Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Rattlehead
6,741 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi

I'm a Fantasy noob, and I want to start a new army. Skaven have Island of Blood and great Magic, Models and War Machines. Dark Elves have the Story, even better models, and I think look nicer to paint. I like Magic and Combat.

What should I get in your collective opinion? Which is more forgiving? Bearing in mind I'm a Space Marines player in 40k.

Midnight

·
Registered
39 Posts
I haven't played as dark elves, but skaven tactics are pretty easy to get a hold on. The number of models required, however, makes them far more expensive and timeconsuming. Skaven'll be a long shot from what you're used to as a space marine player too.

·
Registered
2,247 Posts
For a beginner, Dark Elves, I'd say. Skaven have a morbidly high model-count, and lots of rules for all their special stuff. Dark Elves are very versatile, with often a low to medium model count. Since you said you like magic and combat, both are very strong with Dark Elves, magic especially since Dark Elves are one of the few races that can spam magic anymore. Skaven, from what I've seen, while they have some pretty decent magic, like other horde armies can't just spam low level wizards anymore.

·
Rattlehead
6,741 Posts
Discussion Starter #4