Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
622 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been playing for a long time, and i have either been playing wrong for some time or got shafted by the to at my last tournament.

I had a chimera sitting up against a 6" tall wall so all you could see was the front armor. My opponent was playing tau, and took a shot at the chimera. No biggy, except the to said that since he was on the side armor plane ( he was, BUT the side was not visible at all - the wall was 3 x higher than the tank ) he was shooting side armor. I argues that since there was no visible side armor, that was not possible, but he said that it was a side armor shot.

No big deal, I won anyway, but if that is true then it changes how the game is played!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
496 Posts
Actualy the rulebook covers this exact situation

he shoots at the front armor AND you get a cover save

i dont know which page it is...
but it covers that situation exactly
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
622 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
So even though the side armor is not visible ( it is literally against a building ) it is a side armor shot? GW has some screwy rules, but shooting side armor that is hidden is lame at best.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,719 Posts
Think of it as the shot passing through the cover and you get a 3+ to make it stop the shot. It is coming from a specific direction (the side) the fact that it is covered by a wall doesn't turn the shot into a magic bullet to go around it and hit a side not facing it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
496 Posts
i though it would hit the front armor, since it hits it on an angle

mustive read it wrong...

didnt have my book on me so couldnt confirm
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,719 Posts
OK, it IS the facing that is visible. Flame has the right of it.

BRB pg 62, left column, last paragraph, last sentence:

In this case they may take the shot against the facing they can see, but to represent such an extremely angled shot, the vehicle recieves a 3+ cover save.
Last time I take Tal's word for it...lol
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,122 Posts
since he can't see ANY of the side he is shooting at then you get a 3+ cover save. however he still hits side armour.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,822 Posts
since he can't see ANY of the side he is shooting at then you get a 3+ cover save. however he still hits side armour.
!? Did you even bother to read the rest of the thread or look at the page referenced?

3+ cover, shot resolved against the visible armor facing (in this case, NOT the side). If all the shooter sees is the front armor, the shot is resolved against the front armor, regardless of armor facing the shooter.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,054 Posts
...just remember kids, drugs are an exciting life experience that, while not for everyone, can greatly enhance the amount of exciting surprises in life.
Ffixed? <3
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,719 Posts
If you call "Oh, look I've made myself a brain-dead idiot with no teeth who steals from his grandmother! " a surprise.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
496 Posts
oh mint!

i was right :D yay me :3 im not crazy!
 

·
Jeep's and Harley's
Joined
·
1,997 Posts
If you call "Oh, look I've made myself a brain-dead idiot with no teeth who steals from his grandmother! " a surprise.
I got teeth ... just gotta fid the little bastards ... can't eat corn on the cob without em.:biggrin:

What should happen: He gets to shoot your front armor, due to the extreme angle you get a 3+ cover. Or am I wrong AGAIN?
 
1 - 16 of 16 Posts
Top