Hi,
Since I play alot of games against Black Templars the 'Righteous Zeal' rule has some in for a fair amount of scrutiny, just wondering if people could give me some feedback on the issue of when a Righteous Zealing unit fights.
(Note: I searched the forum about this but only found one thread which mentioned this, and even then had the alternate conclusion to the one I drew)
First off wording of the righteous zeal rule:
"This is identical to a 'Consolidate' move that has been achieved through a massacre result and follows all the normal rules give in the Warhammer 40K rulebook"
The issue is therefore that under normal circumstances a Consolidating unit does not fight in the same turn as it consolidates into BtB contact with an enemy unit. In effect if the Righteous Zeal move is identical to a consolidate move, the combat is worked out next turn (ie the Templar player's turn), this is relevant because it means a.) the unit is locked and so can not be shot at again, but also b.) they are locked at the start of their own turn and so have to spend a combat phase hacking up whatever they have Zealed into.
The only other bit of evidence I could muster was that the consolidation rules state that the unit:
"Does not count as charging when combat is worked out next turn"
[Emphasis mine]
This seems pretty clear the consolidated combats are not resolved in the turn the consolidation move occurs, meaning it is a legitimate tactic to drop a couple of gun drones next to a crusader squad, which the subsequent Zeal move contacts with, effectively locking the unit in an insiginificant combat for a turn, giving time for a redeployment/second round of shooting.
Thoughts?
Zarl
EDIT: Spelling
Since I play alot of games against Black Templars the 'Righteous Zeal' rule has some in for a fair amount of scrutiny, just wondering if people could give me some feedback on the issue of when a Righteous Zealing unit fights.
(Note: I searched the forum about this but only found one thread which mentioned this, and even then had the alternate conclusion to the one I drew)
First off wording of the righteous zeal rule:
"This is identical to a 'Consolidate' move that has been achieved through a massacre result and follows all the normal rules give in the Warhammer 40K rulebook"
The issue is therefore that under normal circumstances a Consolidating unit does not fight in the same turn as it consolidates into BtB contact with an enemy unit. In effect if the Righteous Zeal move is identical to a consolidate move, the combat is worked out next turn (ie the Templar player's turn), this is relevant because it means a.) the unit is locked and so can not be shot at again, but also b.) they are locked at the start of their own turn and so have to spend a combat phase hacking up whatever they have Zealed into.
The only other bit of evidence I could muster was that the consolidation rules state that the unit:
"Does not count as charging when combat is worked out next turn"
[Emphasis mine]
This seems pretty clear the consolidated combats are not resolved in the turn the consolidation move occurs, meaning it is a legitimate tactic to drop a couple of gun drones next to a crusader squad, which the subsequent Zeal move contacts with, effectively locking the unit in an insiginificant combat for a turn, giving time for a redeployment/second round of shooting.
Thoughts?
Zarl
EDIT: Spelling