Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys! Orkrates here!

I started playing with Games Workshop minis back in 1998 when i was a young'un. Played solidly for five years, and took a big break. (University.) Have just got in touch with an old Blood Angel playing school friend so I thought i'd give the hobby another go! :)

My fave games: 40K, Gorkamorka, Bloodbowl.

I've spent the last few days reading up on the new rules. (The last time I played 40k was 3rd edition!) Sad to see the choppa's arent as deadly anymore...but Boyz w/furious charge does seem amazing!

Sadly I don't think my old warboss is going to cut it anymore. I'm thinking of converting a new one...anyone have any experience with that? I could use a few pointers. :)

-Orkrates

·
Registered
79 Posts
Waaaaagggghhhhhh
great another ork player welcome back to the hobby mate.
A great place to start is the BR starter set that includes a great looking warboss (ebay is a good place to look).
other than that full size squads are the best, for example 30 boyz in a squad can do a lot of damage.
good luck

·
Powered by Squig Tea
7,589 Posts
The Assault on Black Reach set is a good set to get hold of, the plastic Warboss is a good base for conversions.

Wecome to Heresy Online, we have quite a few Ork players with good threads in the Modelling and Painting forum as well as the Ongoing Projects.

·
Registered
648 Posts
Welcome back.

Furious Charge is a big boost, but armored opponents can cause you problems and I3 is pretty poor. Orks are all about the overwhelming assault, getting as much pain in one place and smashing their opponents in 1 turn, after FC wears off they lose a lot of potency. The tricky part with 5th ed is setting up that grand assault considering the difficulties Orks have with armor and getting stuck in tarpits or bubblewrap.