Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

Red Paint Job.

1703 Views 39 Replies 11 Participants Last post by  DeathKlokk

The only question that I would ask if I were playing an Ork player would be " What speed did you move, combat speed or cruising speed?" That is all I would need to know.
This seems to me to be the fairest, and simplest, way to play the rule.
You get a 'bonus' 1" move; if you choose to ignore it, you move as normal, if you choose to use it, you move an extra 1", but discount the extra move from your total distance moved.
So if you move 7", you can choose to either count as moving at Cruising or Combat, depending on what you decide.

Thanks Talthewicked :D

*original post begins here*

Red Paint Job is a glorious upgrade, however, it seems some people disagree with me on how it works, RAW.

Ork vehicles with Red Paint Job add +1 to their move in the Movement phase but do not incur penalties for this extra inch. For example, a vehicle could move 13" and still count as moving 12".
That's the wording of the rule.

RAW, not necessarily RAI, that means you can move 1" extra distance, and ignore all penalties for doing so, as it says in the rule.
That means you can move 7", be hit on 6+ in melee the next turn, and fire 1 primary and all secondary weapons, as though you had moved 1" less.

Some people disagree with me on this, proposing that you simply can move 1" extra, but discount that extra movement for all purposes.
This is wrong, since if you can only move 7" maximum, that means you CANNOT get the 6+ to hit in melee benefit; this in itself is a penalty, and in the wording of the rule, it says you do not incur any penalties for the extra movement bonus; a direct contradiction of the wording of the rule, regardless of whether that is the intended function.

So there are only two sensible conclusions to draw.
1. What I stated above, 1" extra movement, ignoring all penalties, as the rule actually says you do.
2. You can move 1" extra, and that counts for all purposes (allowing non-fast vehicles to move Flat Out), which doesn't follow the wording of the rules at all, but doesn't directly contradict it like my opposition's proposal.

Discuss, please.
See less See more
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 40 Posts
Not receiving a bonus is NOT the same as getting a penalty.

Red Paint Job is not optional, you always use it, read your codex.

You are still wrong Winterous no matter how you try to twist it.

You are not right about the RAW you are wrong, as I have shown.

Swearing is not showing emphasis and if you think it does it shows a level of ignorance. All it does is make you look angry and foolish. I suggest you think before you post and make your arguments articulate.

Where in the rules does it say that cruising speed is a bonus exactly? The getting hit in combat table is neither a bonus nor a penalty, it's just a thing.

Unless you're saying that RPJ stops you immobilising yourself on terrain with that 1" as you could say thats a penalty.

I am afraid you are twisting the rules and despite everyone telling you that you don't seem to be able to see that.

You can move 7 and millionth of an inch to move at cruising speed if you want, that is not a valid argument for saying it's disadvantage to have RPJ.

As the rule says very clearly it works by saying you move 13" but count as moving 12" and hence if you move 7" you count as moving 6". For all purposes. Where you are twisting the rule is you are saying, no no I don't count as moving 6" I count as moving 7" now because otherwise I would be easier to hit. You're claiming not receiving a bonus , being harder to hit for moving at cruising speed, is a penalty. Which is is not. Despite you're own rule saying you count as moving 6" in effect.

There is no need to discuss a third way on this. The RAW of RPJ is clear and obvious. The RAW is fair and sensible.

I'm not going to discuss just making up house rules which make no sense when this is a board for discussing the actual rules. The actual rules are clear. If you want to go to Homebrew and concoct your own RPJ rules you can.

1 - 6 of 40 Posts
Not open for further replies.