Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

Red Paint Job.

1696 Views 39 Replies 11 Participants Last post by  DeathKlokk

The only question that I would ask if I were playing an Ork player would be " What speed did you move, combat speed or cruising speed?" That is all I would need to know.
This seems to me to be the fairest, and simplest, way to play the rule.
You get a 'bonus' 1" move; if you choose to ignore it, you move as normal, if you choose to use it, you move an extra 1", but discount the extra move from your total distance moved.
So if you move 7", you can choose to either count as moving at Cruising or Combat, depending on what you decide.

Thanks Talthewicked :D

*original post begins here*

Red Paint Job is a glorious upgrade, however, it seems some people disagree with me on how it works, RAW.

Ork vehicles with Red Paint Job add +1 to their move in the Movement phase but do not incur penalties for this extra inch. For example, a vehicle could move 13" and still count as moving 12".
That's the wording of the rule.

RAW, not necessarily RAI, that means you can move 1" extra distance, and ignore all penalties for doing so, as it says in the rule.
That means you can move 7", be hit on 6+ in melee the next turn, and fire 1 primary and all secondary weapons, as though you had moved 1" less.

Some people disagree with me on this, proposing that you simply can move 1" extra, but discount that extra movement for all purposes.
This is wrong, since if you can only move 7" maximum, that means you CANNOT get the 6+ to hit in melee benefit; this in itself is a penalty, and in the wording of the rule, it says you do not incur any penalties for the extra movement bonus; a direct contradiction of the wording of the rule, regardless of whether that is the intended function.

So there are only two sensible conclusions to draw.
1. What I stated above, 1" extra movement, ignoring all penalties, as the rule actually says you do.
2. You can move 1" extra, and that counts for all purposes (allowing non-fast vehicles to move Flat Out), which doesn't follow the wording of the rules at all, but doesn't directly contradict it like my opposition's proposal.

Discuss, please.
See less See more
Not open for further replies.
1 - 2 of 40 Posts
So you were passionate about your beliefs and spoke to Aramoro and I using fowl language insisting you were right, and then in the end you agree with us....

Can we have an apology?
You guys may or may not have been right in the other thread, but Aramoro and yourself were pretty condescending. Not saying Winterous was right in the language, but I would have gotten pretty annoyed.

Personally, I agree.

Ork rule book is that you ignore penalties when having moved that extra inch.
Main rulebook is that to get those to hit bonus, you take into mind the speed category at which the vehicle had moved.

So, if you move six inches or count as moving six inches, you have moved at combat speed and can be hit in CC at a 4+.

It is pretty easy to read into that rule, and mocking someone who does is pretty poor sportsmanship.
Well it's a little bit confusing, I've defined the penalty here as not being hit on a 6+, but rather a 4+; since you're actually moving 7+, but counting as moving 6+.

Simplest and fairest solution is at the end of the OP, I'll move it to the top.
So, if you count as having moved 6 inches, you have moved at combat speed, so you are hit on a 4+?
1 - 2 of 40 Posts
Not open for further replies.