Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I'd like to start off by first stating my eternal debt to the Space Marine name generator. I'm also a recreational writer and have currently completed three mini-novels (varying from 10-13,000 words each), currently I'm working on my fourth story of the series. My main character is a Commissar-General, who is apart of a High Inquisitor's retinue, two minor characters are Majors and another a Commissar-Captain.

To avoid an onslaught of details, both Majors and Captain were required to undergo trials of purity and incorruptibility (their former Imperial Guard battle-group was completely absorbed into the Inquisition). My main question is; do the Inquisitor Stormtroopers use the standard ranks of the Imperial Guard? ie: Would my Major's/Captain retrain their ranks, or, possibly adopt new ranks?

I've searched around, but my searches have come up with nothing of substance. Any ideas, or speculation would be greatly welcome.

++ Calon

·
Registered
87 Posts
If the Inquisition commandeers the unit, I would assume that they would retain rank, but answer ultimately to the Inquisitor. I do believe that the Inquisition recruits and trains their Stromtroopers from basic to death. And are only recruited from certain world that are a very controlled environments. Most are mind wiped upon "signing up". So it would depend on just how the unit would be "absorbed" I think.

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The Inquisition Stormtroopers are actually plucked from the Schola Progenium, which begins at childhood. I hadn't even considered a memory cleanse (or at least a partial one), which, would be an easy way to incorporate the units. Many thanks.

·
Registered
87 Posts
Cleansing the troopers would be interesting, while leaving the officers their memories. Adds a layer of guilt, or tension between them and the stock troopers.

·
Registered
40 Posts