Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
134 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can an IC be attached to a unit with a dedicated transport at the start of the game so as to be deployed with the unit in the transport? This came up today at a game and I have been searching the BGB and codex but can't find any info on this specific question.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,615 Posts
As I understand it, no. The unit and its dedicated transport are deployed in the troop deployment phase, but the IC is deployed in the HQ deployment phase is how I was told it worked (even worse I suppose if your transport is a HS slot...)

 

·
Registered
Joined
·
134 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
That was my understanding of it as well, I didn't make a fuss about it this game cause I wasn't sure.
 

·
Executive Nitpicker
Joined
·
8,276 Posts
Doesn't make a lot of difference, unless the other guy goes first and manages to target that unit or transport.

Otherwise just deploy the squad around the transport, deploy the IC by the squad, have the IC join the squad, the squad mount up and the vehicle move as normal.

For all intents and purposes it's the same as starting inside

Or, give the IC a jump pack and just have him follow the transport, that way you can deploy inside, and you don't have to worry about your IC getting pinned when someone decides to vape your rhino. Meanwhile, nobody can shoot at him if the transport is closer.

This makes transporting ICs for new codex chapters a pain since command squads are separate units now, you have to deploy one then the other.

Though here's an interesting nugget I never spotted until now.
All ICs have Move Through Cover and SKilled Rider, meaning they can move more quickly through rough terrain and reroll dangerous terrain tests...but they don't confer that on other units they join.
I never knew that, though it never really came up in game
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
134 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Well the reason it was an issue is my opponent deployed Meph in a LRC with his termies, it was a club game so we didn't exchange lists and it was a big surprise to Meph come at me out of nowhere
 

·
Executive Nitpicker
Joined
·
8,276 Posts
Ah, yeah I can see why that would be an issue. I'd bring it up next time you see the guy.

Though I'd rather have meph chugging along behind the raider, using his wings to keep up. That way a lucky lascannon shot doesn't end up screwing over 800 points worth of models. Meph can stand guard as a potent countercharge threat to anyone who wants to trey and take advantage of the pinned termies.

He's got LD 10, so he's not going to fail his wings test very often, and if he does, you can always just move the raider a little slower so he can catch up. And with his high toughness and FNP, perils of the warp aren't a big deal.


You might want to suggest that to him when you mention it
 

·
Inquisitor
Joined
·
963 Posts
Please see page 81 second and third paragraph.. short answer is Yes the IC can start joined to the unit and inside the transport.

And also per the FAQ...

BGB FAQ said:
Q. Reserves and joining units/transports. When
deploying an Independent Character, on page 81 the
rule book says that “you may specify that it starts the
game already inside a unit and place it in coherency with
it”. If the character and this unit are both kept in Reserve,
can you roll for them together (i.e. only one roll applying
to both), so that they enter the game together
(particularly if they are also using a transport)? This
seems to contradict the “Each selection from the Force
Organisation chart is diced for separately” on page 84
(Reserves). Similarly, can a squad start the game in
Reserve inside a transport vehicle that is not a
dedicated transport, so that I roll only one dice for both?

A. There is a way to use these two rules so that they do
not contradict each other.
If the Reserves rules are used, you must roll separately
for all Force Organisation chart selections at the start of
the turn (including rolling separately for Independent
Characters and non-dedicated transports). Once you
worked out which units are available in that turn, you are
allowed to combine them in any legal way. For example,
if an independent character, a squad and a nondedicated
transport all become available at the
beginning of turn 3, you could deploy them all separately
as normal, or the character could join the unit and then
the unit could enter the battlefield embarked on the
transport, as long as they fit inside it. Or any other legal
combination.
 

·
Executive Nitpicker
Joined
·
8,276 Posts
Oops, you got me there, Bish!

Truth be told, I've never really put an IC inside a transport, since we Blood Angels favor jump packs. I always thought you could, but since I've never needed to look it up, I didn't know where to find it. Unable to find backup for my opinion, I assumed I was misremembering.

So yeah, you can deploy pre-joined and already inside the transport (I always thought you could, I just couldn't find where it said when I looked for it)

Question then becomes, how would that work as far as taking turns goes? Would you deploy the IC, along with the squad and transport all as one HQ deployment, or would you put your transport/transported squad down first and when the time comes to deploy your IC you just say "You go, he's not starting on the table." (I would think the latter)

I've never been so glad to be proven wrong though. I just started a transport-heavy list <chuckles>

That said, I would still leave mephy outside of the transport, just to keep from putting half my list into one basket.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
134 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Thanks for clearing that up guys, especially bish for remedying Gal's deceitful lies :grin:
 

·
Inquisitor
Joined
·
963 Posts
Yeah it comes in handy with my Grey Knights... Ill throw a huge squad of termies + grand master in a crusader sometimes.. yea its a gamble as you say Gal but most of the time it works out (course some times it dont). Always glad to help.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
811 Posts
Somthing said previously confuses me.

can you deploy an HQ and instantly attach him before the game starts?

If not then I have been doing it wrong and it also really sucks for me.
 

·
Executive Nitpicker
Joined
·
8,276 Posts
Yes, when the time comes to deploy an HQ unit, he can be attached and/or mounted up as soon as he's deployed (which is technically after the start of the game, but before the start of combat)
 

·
Inquisitor
Joined
·
963 Posts
Anytime items become available for deployment at the same time such as at the beginning of the game or from reserves on the same turn (both the IC and a unit roll to come in seperately but arrive at the same time) you may join characters to units and place units in vehicles.

Example:

In a Grey Knights Army a Grandmaster can be taken as a HQ choice, a Termie squad as an Elites choice, and a Land Raider Crusader as a Heavy Support choice. If all 3 were kept in Reserves and all became available for deployment on the same turn due to exceptional rolling then they may all be deployed together ergo the GM joined to the Termie squad and the Termie squad embarked in the LR Crusader.

Deployment at the beginning of the game is consider "the same time" as long as all options are available to you. There are some instances where the Elites choice may not be available for deployment in which case the Termie squad would not be able to embark in the transport prior to deployment and the Grand Master would not be able to join them. But the Grand Master could still choose to deploy embarked in the LR Crusader.

Hope that clears things up! :eek:k:
 
1 - 13 of 13 Posts
Top