Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We played during the weekend a good scenario and the Tau won again, but not without a sweet??? There were a lot of confusion about some rules but we came to a compromse.

Q.1 Can a Tau Commander be a independant character even with Drones...?

Q.2 Can a montrous creature go up and down in a building even if his base is twice the size of the place where he is suppose to stand and can't fit in between floors...??

Q.3 A beast with LEAPING can move 3D6, but what if there is difficult terrain in between, does he move with the better result of 3d6 as normal or with the result times 2???

thanks and more questions to follow!!!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
505 Posts
For question 2, unless a rule specifically says otherwise, I'd say the monstrous creature can. Maybe you can imagine that it's balancing itself on one leg.
 

·
Inquisitor
Joined
·
963 Posts
Question 1: Yes and No... he can be picked out independantly as if he were his own unit for the purposes of shooting at him but he may still join and leave other units freely and fights indepedantly in CC on his own.

Questions 2: Yes. There are no rules about the ground having to be as big or bigger than the base of your models. Yes a carnifex could theoretically stand at the top of a very big building even if the floor was very small.

Question 3: Leaping only gives them a fast charge of 12" but they DO NOT become beasts.. ergo they are still slowed in the normal fashion by difficult terrain and do not recieve any special benefits while slowed... ergo still 2D6 and take the highest. This is a generic answer and can change depending upon which Tyranid is givin this morph. Can you be more specific??
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
A tyranid warrior with leaping biomorph abilities is able to charged at 12 inches instead of 6... What about difficult terrain?? Sorry I just take to the owner of the tyranid!!!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Q.4 Can a tyrannid warrior go through a door even if he does'nt fit throught it??? I know that a montrous creature just gonna make one!!!
 

·
Inquisitor
Joined
·
963 Posts
The warrior w/ leaping becomes slowed by difficult terrain just like every body else. As he is a Tyranid he gets move through cover and may roll 3D6 instead of 2D6 like normal. He rolls 3D6 and takes the highest and may essentially move a max of 6 inches in difficult terrain. The reason for this is that it states in the leaping special rules specifically that the creature doesnot become a "beast" which is where they loose the ability to double the result of the roll. Per the Leaping rule though they may still make attacks when within 3" of a friendly model rather than the normal 2". Hope that clarifies things for your friend.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
328 Posts
well the terrain is difficult to describe. the base that it is usually on is a marker for basically a giant pile of rubble(city fight). The fancy doors and stairs and what not is so models can fit on it. So it can fit through a door or on a certain level because the building is just for looks.(assuming you were playing sities of death)
This is of course for area terrain so hopefully you understand.
 

·
Inquisitor
Joined
·
963 Posts
Q.4 Can a tyrannid warrior go through a door even if he does'nt fit throught it??? I know that a montrous creature just gonna make one!!!
That depends entirely on how you aggreed to play the terrain with your opponent. If the terrain is being played as "area terrain" then yes he may move through it. If it is being played as "WYSIWIG or What You See Is What You Get" then no. Its best to agree on the effects of terrain before you begin the game. I would read pages 16 and 17 of the BGB to get a good idea on the effects of everything and judge for yourself.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
232 Posts
Even if you agree to disallow it, remember that you can take Flesh Hooks on a 'Fex - that means it could scale the outside of a building (impassable vertical terrain) as if it were Difficult Terrain (while still benefiting from the 'Moves through cover' rule).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Q.5 When there is a weapons destroyed on a vehicule, is it the owner who decide what is destroyed or the opponent??? And is it automaticely the strongest weapons and down...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
Every time we play we have more troops to put on the table and more questions without answers but we always find a way to come to a agreement...

Thanks, it is more clear to me...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
Q.6 If a vehicule is behind a wood line of less then 6 inches, does it have the cover needed to downgraded a penetrating to glancing...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
505 Posts
Q.6 If a vehicule is behind a wood line of less then 6 inches, does it have the cover needed to downgraded a penetrating to glancing...
I don't really understand exactly what you mean, but by the sound of it you're asking if something 6 inches or less from the edge of a terrain piece gets affected by cover. If that is the case, the answer is yes. I think if it's over 6 inches in size 2/3 cover, it's out of line of sight.
 

·
Inquisitor
Joined
·
963 Posts
As for question on weapon destroyed the opponent who causes the weapon destroyed picks the weapon and it can be any weapon on the vehicle.

As for the wood line if the vehicle is not IN the woods then you are not allowed to shoot at it period end of sentence even if it is a skimmer. The woods completely block line of sight if your not IN them.

As to being French Canadian we wont hold it against you.
 

·
Bleh
Joined
·
3,785 Posts
We played during the weekend a good scenario and the Tau won again, but not without a sweet??? There were a lot of confusion about some rules but we came to a compromse.

Q.1 Can a Tau Commander be a independant character even with Drones...?

Q.2 Can a montrous creature go up and down in a building even if his base is twice the size of the place where he is suppose to stand and can't fit in between floors...??

Q.3 A beast with LEAPING can move 3D6, but what if there is difficult terrain in between, does he move with the better result of 3d6 as normal or with the result times 2???

thanks and more questions to follow!!!
A.1. Yes, his drones just protect the commander though.

A.2. Yes, we played with terrain we built today, it is rather small terrain mind, and a carnifex can play from the top of one level, and the floor was like 1" by 1"...

A.3. I think they still have to roll 2D6 for terrain...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,372 Posts
As for the wood line if the vehicle is not IN the woods then you are not allowed to shoot at it period end of sentence even if it is a skimmer. The woods completely block line of sight if your not IN them.
Only if the woods are size 3. If the woods are size 2 the skimmer can be seen but is obscured. If the woods are size 1 then the vehicle gets no benefit for being behind them.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
538 Posts
the opp decides which wpn is destroyed. small rulebook-p.67 under armament destroyed heading. Read what is in parenthesis.
 
1 - 20 of 27 Posts
Top