Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I would like to clarify something about the Ork KFF that the Big Mek can use.

Does it give the 5+ cover bonus or the obscured target rule to a unit so long as ONE model is within 6" or do ALL the models in the unit need to be with range?

I'll be running a KFF soon and I need to know as to cause no arguements.
 

·
Moderator
Joined
·
4,491 Posts
Only 1mm of 1 of the models bases has to be within for the whole unit to benefit.

You can have 200 models spread over your whole deployment zone, all gaining the benefit of the KFF, if they are positioned correctly.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,719 Posts
Ah, that's why I love my Vindicare Assassin.

Click,click BOOM! "Hey where'd da bubble go?"
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,976 Posts
Ah, that's why I love my Vindicare Assassin.

Click,click BOOM! "Hey where'd da bubble go?"
You must have one of them "competent" vindicares then. I've heard of them, never seen one. The ones around here have an uncanny knack of rolling 1s to hit, and whiffing the wound roll when they do connect. I have seen one take out a rhino before though...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
220 Posts
my buddy used one just the other day, first turn popped my predator on it's side armor.. i was bumming the rest of the game.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
49 Posts
as long as one model from the unit is in 6" range the whole unit gets the cover save
You all seem pretty confident in this answer, but I thought this remained one of those contentious rules that hasn't been clarified. I've heard lots of responses to how the KFF works: One model in range grants cover to the unit, majority models in range grants cover to the unit (like it was just a mobile hedge row) or even only specific models in range (not the whole unit) get the cover (Which seems to be the least likely answer to me as it directly goes against 5th edition rules for cover AND the friggin wording for the power (I went on a rant about this one in the general section previously... friggin GW employees)).

Basically what I'm asking is, is there a ruling on this or are we all just saying what we believe is right?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,122 Posts
i'm afraid the is no "offical" ruleing but the majoraty of plays will say just 1 modal has to be in rang efor the entire unit to get it. I don't fight orks that much but when i did in an apocaypse game he put is Mech in his Stompa and that 4+ cover save was a right pain....until my lone Marine with metlagun poped it like a zit and then the Mech thoguht him self into his own Vortex grenade :victory:

The main thing is really confirm it with your oppoent or Ref first so you don't get this problem later.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,314 Posts
KFF does not protect models it protect units. As states in the BRB when measuring to a unit, the unit is in range if any of the models in the unit are in range. Pg 3 of the rule book.

No real clarification needed as it's one of the most basic rules of the game.

Aramoro
 

·
Moderator
Joined
·
4,491 Posts
You all seem pretty confident in this answer, but I thought this remained one of those contentious rules that hasn't been clarified. I've heard lots of responses to how the KFF works: One model in range grants cover to the unit, majority models in range grants cover to the unit (like it was just a mobile hedge row) or even only specific models in range (not the whole unit) get the cover (Which seems to be the least likely answer to me as it directly goes against 5th edition rules for cover AND the friggin wording for the power (I went on a rant about this one in the general section previously... friggin GW employees)).

Basically what I'm asking is, is there a ruling on this or are we all just saying what we believe is right?
A model within 6" is a model within 6".
A model in a unit is part of the unit.
If part of the unit is within 6", then its within 6".
Fairly simple stuff.

Put it this way.... If you cant say that a unit is at least 6" away from the model, then it has to be within 6" doesnt it? :wink:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,976 Posts
The rule is pretty clear however, if a unit is within 6", it gets a cover save. If it said "model", then more than half the unit would have to be affected, just like normal cover saves. However, it says unit, and (just like a number of other "unit" effects"), affects the whole unit if can reach any part of it.

So, if a single model is in range, the "unit" is in range, and if the unit is in range, the unit gets a cover save. You don't have to have the majority of the unit, just any part of it. This also goes for things like IG orders, SM powers like Nullzone, Banner effects for various different armies... the list goes on.

[Edit: and I've already been ninja'd twice! teaches me for not reloading first :laugh:]
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
49 Posts
whoa whoa, I wasn't trying to start an argument over that, I'm on your side here (I'm an ork player afterall). Believe me, I was so peeved about the guy telling me it was models within 6 inches (which if CLEARLY not right since that literally ignores the wording of the power) I had to come on here and rant about it to vent.

My group of friends have decided to treat the KFF as a mobile cover. That isn't really as good as my interpretation, but it does mean they let units standing BEHIND the KFF get cover as well, which leads to some interesting circumstances. My personal belief is that if a model is within 6 inches, the unit that model belongs to gets the KFF benefit. However, I've gotta go with what the majority of the people I play with say or else we'll just spend the whole time arguing and that doesn't really make the game very enjoyable
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,976 Posts
whoa whoa, I wasn't trying to start an argument over that, I'm on your side here (I'm an ork player afterall). Believe me, I was so peeved about the guy telling me it was models within 6 inches (which if CLEARLY not right since that literally ignores the wording of the power) I had to come on here and rant about it to vent.

My group of friends have decided to treat the KFF as a mobile cover. That isn't really as good as my interpretation, but it does mean they let units standing BEHIND the KFF get cover as well, which leads to some interesting circumstances. My personal belief is that if a model is within 6 inches, the unit that model belongs to gets the KFF benefit. However, I've gotta go with what the majority of the people I play with say or else we'll just spend the whole time arguing and that doesn't really make the game very enjoyable
That's all fair enough, many players/groups house rule things to suit :)

If you ever wanted to convince them of how it's supposed to work, you can always just use the points we've made (and remind them of the effects in their own armies that use the "units within..." form of rule). Otherwise, keep playing it the way that you and your group find fun, because that's what it's all about. Just know that if you ever go to tournaments, or play against other groups, they'll probably use it the other way around.

Either way, good luck to you :victory:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,864 Posts
This cover save business is why I love my dark reapers exarch crack shooting tempest launcher (whats that? I have no line of sight and the unit is in cover? I have barrage weapon ignoring cover so I simply do not care!)

Also gave one to a firepike fire dragon exarch. No turbo-boosting vehicle gets away from me!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
62 Posts
Everyone I've ever asked seems to go by what the codex literaly says: "all units within 6" of the Mek". Which imo means if any model in the unit is within 6" then the unit as a whole is considered within 6". I think if the writers meant otherwise they would have said something like "if over half the unit is within 6"" or something like that.

*edit* I should have read the other post first. Sorry for the repeat.
 
1 - 19 of 19 Posts
Top