Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
It's Only Logical
Joined
·
151 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Can you cast any number of psychic powers in the psychic phase? As long as you have enough warp charges to spend to cast them. Like can I cast a blessing targeting a friendly unit and cast a witch fire spell such as smite on another enemy unit? And this happens all in one phase?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,195 Posts
They can cast as many powers as they have dice for. They can not cast the same power twice.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,195 Posts
Reread the section, each caster is limited to casting his ML worth of powers. Ml1= 1 cast ectect
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,166 Posts
I can see where you thought that, but the limit they speak of is the number of cards he gets, not the number of powers he can manifest. Many psyker level 1 have 3 powers, Primaris, rolled, and Force. They can all be used. I stand corrected. huh!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,166 Posts
Yes, pg. 22. "The number of powers ....depends on his Mastery level". That means to me how the powers are chosen - i.e. a level 1 has 1 power card he can use. Plus Force as an additional power card. Plus the Primaris Power if he's focussed (which he has to be). Therefore he's only able to do those 3 things due to being level 1. Level 2 would be able to generate 2 powers, plus maybe the default power if focussed, plus possibly force. Four powers for level 2. I understand your reading it as being LIMITED to one power, I read that section as dealing with what the rules give a Mastery 1 psyker with what powers he can cast in a phase.

It;s basically the difference between how I see depends versus you reading limited.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,195 Posts
Mastery Levels
The number of psychic powers a Psyker can use each turn depends on his Mastery Level. Even a Psyker with a Mastery Level of 1 is a fearsome foe. Psykers with a Mastery Level of 4 or higher are incredibly rare, and it is better for the galaxy that this is so – they are almost unbelievably powerful, and rarely submit to any authority other than their own.


Don't see how you can read that as anything other than they can cast ML# worth of powers each turn.......
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,166 Posts
Easily. Depends is not limited to. I gave you a very detailed explanation of why being level 1 doesn't mean you can only have/cast one power. We disagree. I guess that is fair. We'd have to roll a d6 if we ever played.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,195 Posts
It is not saying they only have one power. It is saying they can only cast 1 power a turn if they are ML1. I did not disagree with any of the things you said about the potential powers each one of them can have. But that line flat out states that they can only cast their ML# of powers a turn.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
564 Posts
i agree with #scscofield, i play Thousand Sons and was looking over it. Yes i had 3 powers to choose from with my aspiring sorcerer the primaris, breath (which i am now happy that they can cast this spell no longer wasted by only being ML1) and force but each psychic phase i had to choose only one of the 3 to cast as my mastery level is only one. Even in 6th you would either choose to cast a spell or save it to activate the force weapon.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,694 Posts
Mastery Levels
The number of psychic powers a Psyker can use each turn depends on his Mastery Level. Even a Psyker with a Mastery Level of 1 is a fearsome foe. Psykers with a Mastery Level of 4 or higher are incredibly rare, and it is better for the galaxy that this is so – they are almost unbelievably powerful, and rarely submit to any authority other than their own.


Don't see how you can read that as anything other than they can cast ML# worth of powers each turn.......
This. Pretty straightforward. Otherwise it would be pointless to give extra Levels to psykers, just spamming 2 lvl 1 buggers would be enough to have 3-4 different powers each and cast them all until power dice aren't over. that seems so silly to me and also so far from the 6th ed ruling that...well...nope! :p
 

·
It's Only Logical
Joined
·
151 Posts
Discussion Starter · #17 ·
So more questions. I read the rulebook but it's not amazingly clear to me. I can cast as many spells as I have warp charges for to use? As long as I meet the minimum amount of warp charges needed to cast the spell. I can cast any number of things on any number of targets as long as I have the warp charges? If I want to cast a spell that costs 2 warp charges... Can I use 3 of my warp charges on it to give me a higher chance to get the 2 4+ Dice rolls needed? So I can use 3D6 instead of 2? Or are you only allowed to roll 2D6 since it's a 2 warp charge cost spell. If I make one of my rolls but not the other are both warp charges gone as I didn't successfully cast the spell? Or do I get to keep the one warp charge I manifested and discard the other I didn't.
 
1 - 18 of 18 Posts
Top