Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

Preferred Enemy and Get's Hot! on Vehicles

5360 Views 23 Replies 5 Participants Last post by  NathanJD
This may be a dumb question, but I am curious if someone else sees this different than I:

Preferred Enemy grants re-rolls of To-Hit/Wound rolls of 1.

Get's Hot! on vehicles says roll a dice before you shoot, and if it's a 1 you can potentially Glance yourself.

If a tank has PE and shoots a blast weapon, does it get to re-roll the 1 if the weapon Get's Hot?

Personally I think it means squat, all you get is re-rolled 1's on to-wound. That jive with the rest of Heresy?
1 - 10 of 24 Posts
Pask and the interwebz are why I am asking. I've seen 'Pask buffs Gets Hot!' a couple times and I just don't see it.
...it may also re-roll Gets Hot results of 1 for weapons that do not roll To Hit.
....read the whole rule, eh? Thanks, @Jdojo18 :drinks:
Nathan, the quote I just posted is directly from the BRB under 'Get's Hot! and Re-Rolls' and specifically states that things that do not roll to-hit still re-roll 1's if they are allowed to re-roll their dice, which is what Preferred Enemy allows us to do. Since it is specifically the 1 that you are allowed to re-roll I am inclined to believe (backed by the above quote) that Preferred Enemy does indeed allow for re-rolls of Get's Hot! when using blast weapons.

Otherwise why specifically say:

it may also re-roll Gets Hot results of 1 for weapons that do not roll To Hit
EDIT: 7th edition is coming out soon enough, so we'll have definite answers on the 24th I imagine.
Weapons that don't roll to hit must roll a D6 for each shot...
Hmmm. I wonder if this should mean that Heavy 3 has three Get's Hot! rolls, or if each weapon equipped on the vehicle Get's Hot! individually. I'm inclined to think it gets a Get's Hot! rolls for each scatter dice rolled, since you have the ability to take two wounds off a Plasma Gun on Rapid Fire. Got damn. Hope that wording gets nudged in 7th edition...otherwise the Executioner tank is a lot lamer than it was before the IG became the AM.
Note the words "because of", synonymous with "as a result of". It is the rolling of a 1 that confers the re-roll, not simply having bs6 or preferred enemy.
....so you don't even accept the exceptions for the rule that GW wrote in themselves?
Ok, so by your own words there you say that BS6+ and Preferred Enemy are the same thing. The BRB states that BS6+ is one of the reasons you are allowed to re-roll Get's Hot! if you are firing a weapon that doesn't need to roll to hit.

Since the reasons behind re-rolling in the instance of BS6+ and Preferred Enemy are the same, the statement in the Get's Hot! rule of:

If a model has the ability to re-roll its
rolls To Hit (including because of BS
6+
, or Twin-linked), a wound is only
suffered if the To Hit re-roll is also a 1; it
may also re-roll Gets Hot results of 1 for
weapons that do not roll To Hit
.
certainly seems (to me and apparently a couple other people here) to mean that Preferred Enemy allows for Re-Rolls of Get's Hot! dice.
noun: semi-colon
a punctuation mark (;) indicating a pause, typically between two main clauses, that is more pronounced than that indicated by a comma.

Semicolons don't mean it's a new sentence, it means there's a break in the way you read a new piece of information that directly relates to the same topic as before; a way of stopping run-on sentences, if you will. In this context, "; it" doesn't start a new sentence, it continues the original topic to a new but still inclusive one in a grammatically acceptable way. In this sentence, "; it" is a shorter and less redundant way of saying:

If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit (including because of BS 6+, or Twin-linked), a wound is only suffered if the To Hit re-roll is also a 1. The model that has the ability to re-roll its rolls of to hit may also re-roll Gets Hot results of 1 for weapons that do not roll To Hit
which still means the same thing as what I'm conveying.



Unless I skipped that class in English. I dunno. Just trying to understand I suppose.
But as you said, this is moot as it reads the same either way.
The way I re-wrote the sentence without a semicolon states that "; it" from the BRB refers to the same "model [that] has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit (including because of BS 6+, or Twin-linked)" that the first half pertains to. That is the opposite of what you are saying. However, with a new edition coming out in two weeks I gotta say I've spent enough time on this for the time being. Play it the way that makes you happiest my friend, and we shall see what becomes of the BRB on the 24th....or whatever day thereafter that we can all get our mitts on a copy of 7th Edition.
Deleted statement as I didn't want to add further fuel to a mostly pointless discussion
Now you're getting it! :drinks:
1 - 10 of 24 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top