Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,323 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This may be a dumb question, but I am curious if someone else sees this different than I:

Preferred Enemy grants re-rolls of To-Hit/Wound rolls of 1.

Get's Hot! on vehicles says roll a dice before you shoot, and if it's a 1 you can potentially Glance yourself.

If a tank has PE and shoots a blast weapon, does it get to re-roll the 1 if the weapon Get's Hot?

Personally I think it means squat, all you get is re-rolled 1's on to-wound. That jive with the rest of Heresy?
 

·
Entropy Fetishist
Joined
·
4,249 Posts
Agreed. Plasma Cannons never benefit from rerolling to hit for Gets Hot (nor Riptide blasts or other blast weapons with Gets Hot), even if they're on infantry, since the Gets Hot mechanic is separated from the scatter dice in that manner. There are no 1s you are rolling to hit, so you only get the rerolls on wounds. Making Pask in an Exterminator less tempting...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,323 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Pask and the interwebz are why I am asking. I've seen 'Pask buffs Gets Hot!' a couple times and I just don't see it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
468 Posts
On Pg 37 under "Get's Hot and Re-rolls"

says that if you have the ability to reroll, then you get to reroll that d6 before shooting a blast gets hot weapon. It doesn't just limit it to only twinlinked
 

·
Entropy Fetishist
Joined
·
4,249 Posts
On Pg 37 under "Get's Hot and Re-rolls"

says that if you have the ability to reroll, then you get to reroll that d6 before shooting a blast gets hot weapon. It doesn't just limit it to only twinlinked
Oooooooooooh

+rep, thanks for correcting that error in my memory of the rules.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
468 Posts
I just played a game last week with pask in a punisher and two executioner tanks as escorts and I had to check the rules to make sure I wasn't gonna kill myself hah just remember that you roll once for the gun, not three times
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
268 Posts
But preferred enemy only gives you a re-roll if your to hit was a 1. Since blast weapons do not roll to hit, you cannot roll a 1 so therefore cannot be granted a re-roll to hit. Without this re-roll to hit you do not get to re-roll the gets hot dice. So no, preferred enemy does not allow you to re-roll a gets hot result from blast or template weapons.

This is different than prescience and twin-linking as since you are always granted a re-roll to hit, you are free to re-roll the gets hot result as per pg 37.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,323 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 · (Edited)
Nathan, the quote I just posted is directly from the BRB under 'Get's Hot! and Re-Rolls' and specifically states that things that do not roll to-hit still re-roll 1's if they are allowed to re-roll their dice, which is what Preferred Enemy allows us to do. Since it is specifically the 1 that you are allowed to re-roll I am inclined to believe (backed by the above quote) that Preferred Enemy does indeed allow for re-rolls of Get's Hot! when using blast weapons.

Otherwise why specifically say:

it may also re-roll Gets Hot results of 1 for weapons that do not roll To Hit
EDIT: 7th edition is coming out soon enough, so we'll have definite answers on the 24th I imagine.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
136 Posts
BS 6+ only allows rerolls on a roll of a 1 as per BRB pg 13. Yet that can reroll gets hot.

Also, @Jdojo18, isn't it per shot fired (eg 3) as per the section under "Gets Hot and weapons that do not roll to hit"

"Weapons that don't roll to hit must roll a D6 for each shot..."

?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
268 Posts
From BRB pg 13 is specifically states "it gains a re-roll whenever it rolls a 1 To Hit". This means it does not gain it's re-roll until AFTER a 1 is rolled TO HIT.

Pg 37 states that "If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls to hit (including because of BS6". Note the words "because of", synonymous with "as a result of". It is the rolling of a 1 that confers the re-roll, not simply having bs6 or preferred enemy.

Yes the wording is very confusing, especially because of, "it may also re-roll Gets Hot results of 1 for weapons that do not roll to hit." The "it" here applies to a model that has been granted re-roll to hit, which does not include the bs6 case in parenthesis above. This is because as per pg 13, the model was never granted a re-roll since it did not roll a 1 to hit.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,323 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 · (Edited)
Weapons that don't roll to hit must roll a D6 for each shot...
Hmmm. I wonder if this should mean that Heavy 3 has three Get's Hot! rolls, or if each weapon equipped on the vehicle Get's Hot! individually. I'm inclined to think it gets a Get's Hot! rolls for each scatter dice rolled, since you have the ability to take two wounds off a Plasma Gun on Rapid Fire. Got damn. Hope that wording gets nudged in 7th edition...otherwise the Executioner tank is a lot lamer than it was before the IG became the AM.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
268 Posts
It means that heavy 3 results in 3 Gets Hot dice. A question I have is that since it says you roll these dice before resolving your shooting, if you wreck yourself, does your shooting still go off?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,323 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·
Note the words "because of", synonymous with "as a result of". It is the rolling of a 1 that confers the re-roll, not simply having bs6 or preferred enemy.
....so you don't even accept the exceptions for the rule that GW wrote in themselves?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
268 Posts
Which exceptions? I see the following statements on pg 37 under "Gets Hot and Re-Rolls."

Models that have been granted re-rolls To Hit only suffer a wound if the re-roll is a 1.

Models that have been granted re-rolls To Hit may re-roll Gets Hot rolls when firing weapons that do not require a To Hit roll.

Pg 13
BS6+ grants a model re-roll To Hit if, and only if it rolls a 1 To Hit.

Pg 40
Preferred Enemy grants a model re-roll To Hit if, and only if it rolls a 1 To Hit.

Pg 43 "Twin-Linked"
You must re-roll missed To Hit rolls.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,323 Posts
Discussion Starter · #16 ·
Ok, so by your own words there you say that BS6+ and Preferred Enemy are the same thing. The BRB states that BS6+ is one of the reasons you are allowed to re-roll Get's Hot! if you are firing a weapon that doesn't need to roll to hit.

Since the reasons behind re-rolling in the instance of BS6+ and Preferred Enemy are the same, the statement in the Get's Hot! rule of:

If a model has the ability to re-roll its
rolls To Hit (including because of BS
6+
, or Twin-linked), a wound is only
suffered if the To Hit re-roll is also a 1; it
may also re-roll Gets Hot results of 1 for
weapons that do not roll To Hit
.
certainly seems (to me and apparently a couple other people here) to mean that Preferred Enemy allows for Re-Rolls of Get's Hot! dice.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
268 Posts
In the second sentence, "it" is referring to something that has obtained a re-roll on To Hit. "It" is not referencing bs6+ in the parenthesis directly. The clause in the parenthesis is just describing some ways that a model may gain a re-roll To Hit in the scenario described by the first sentence. BS6+ makes sense in the context of the first sentence, but does not apply to the second.

The book states that BS6+ is one way to obtain a re-roll to hit, which is re-iterated on pg 37. This method of obtaining a re-roll to hit however only applies to weapons that roll To Hit.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,323 Posts
Discussion Starter · #18 ·
noun: semi-colon
a punctuation mark (;) indicating a pause, typically between two main clauses, that is more pronounced than that indicated by a comma.

Semicolons don't mean it's a new sentence, it means there's a break in the way you read a new piece of information that directly relates to the same topic as before; a way of stopping run-on sentences, if you will. In this context, "; it" doesn't start a new sentence, it continues the original topic to a new but still inclusive one in a grammatically acceptable way. In this sentence, "; it" is a shorter and less redundant way of saying:

If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit (including because of BS 6+, or Twin-linked), a wound is only suffered if the To Hit re-roll is also a 1. The model that has the ability to re-roll its rolls of to hit may also re-roll Gets Hot results of 1 for weapons that do not roll To Hit
which still means the same thing as what I'm conveying.



Unless I skipped that class in English. I dunno. Just trying to understand I suppose.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
268 Posts
Yeah I was wrongly trying to simplify things by calling them sentences. I believe that each side of the semi-colon must be a complete sentence so it is more of a way to combine two related sentences together than break one up as with a comma. But as you said, this is moot as it reads the same either way. Replace my earlier references to first/second sentence with first/second clause if you wish.

The main point I'm trying to put fourth here is that the second clause applies only to models that:

- Have gained the ability to re-roll To Hit.
- Are firing a weapon that does not require a To Hit roll.

In the case of a model with BS6 or Preferred Enemy, they do not roll To Hit so do not gain the re-roll To Hit from rolling a 1. Therefore they do not satisfy the first requirement of being a model that has gained the ability to re-roll To Hit.

Similarly, the first clause only applies to models that:

- Have gained the ability to re-roll To Hit.
- Are firing a weapon that requires To Hit rolls.

The first requirement is satisfied by twin-linked as it forces re-rolls on all failed To Hit rolls. It is also satisfied as a result of rolling a 1 To Hit with BS6+. It is not satisfied by simply having BS6+, it is because of BS6+ that it obtained a re-roll To Hit. The same applies to Preferred Enemy.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,323 Posts
Discussion Starter · #20 ·
But as you said, this is moot as it reads the same either way.
The way I re-wrote the sentence without a semicolon states that "; it" from the BRB refers to the same "model [that] has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit (including because of BS 6+, or Twin-linked)" that the first half pertains to. That is the opposite of what you are saying. However, with a new edition coming out in two weeks I gotta say I've spent enough time on this for the time being. Play it the way that makes you happiest my friend, and we shall see what becomes of the BRB on the 24th....or whatever day thereafter that we can all get our mitts on a copy of 7th Edition.
 
1 - 20 of 24 Posts
Top