Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
275 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
erm basically im a bit confused to how many i can use per game turn and opponunt turn if that makes sence.

can i only use 1 power per TURN or PLAYER TURN

e.g

my terminator librarian deep strikes in uses fear of the darkness (my shooting) then in my opponunts turn he gets charged by a carafex can i use my force weapon on it(opponunts combat)

thanks
martin
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
89 Posts
In my experience it almost always specifies this in the respective codex.

For example, Mephiston has three psychic powers at his disposal..two I'll use for example:

Might of Heros: At the start of either player's assualt phase the libarian gains +D3 attacks in that assualt phase.

Transfixing Gaze: Used in the assualt phase, and model in base contact must take a Ld test...blah blah...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
275 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
sorry im not asking WHEN it is used but how many can i use in a turn.

is it one in each PLAYERS turn OR one in each GAME turn

martin
 

·
Inquisitor
Joined
·
963 Posts
In respect to psychic powers its per PLAYER turn not game turn.

Per the FAQ for BGB dated 8/29/06 (yes its over a friggen year old)
FAQ BGB said:
Q. When a rule says “once per turn” (like in the case of
master-crafted weapons, psychic powers, etc.), does
this mean once per player turn or is it once per game
turn?
A. Always assume the word “turn” to mean “player turn”,
unless the text specifies game turn. This is not true,
however, of the “Organising a battle” section of the rule
book, where the opposite is true (so in this section “turn”
means “game turn”).
Yes you may use a force weapon in both assualt phases and yes you may use any other psychic power that specifies weird stuff like at the beginning of any assualt phase and what not in both yours and your opponents turns.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
784 Posts
So just to clarify, My Libby charges using Might of Heroes, the defender holds and we go into his assault phase. I can use Might of Heroes during his assault phase too?
 

·
Inquisitor
Joined
·
963 Posts
Yep. Or you can use your Force weapon instead... its your choice.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
275 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
ok thats for that my librarian will be having more fun then befor.lol
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
171 Posts
that is why i love taking mephiston and a second librarian in most of my games, i had mephiston, honour guard and second libraran as one unit assault a 10 man veteran assault(ultramarines) unit after rolling for wings of sanguinius for both librarians and might of heroes for both as well(a 5 and a 6 respectivly) i attatched both powers to mephiston

mephistons attacks work out thus:4 base +1charging +1two closecombat weapons +3(mephistons might of heroes) +3(other librarians might of heroes)

equals= 12 attacks with a force weapon at weapon skill 6
(mephiston can use all 3 powers in both players turns and still use his force weapon)

and if mephiston leaves any standing you have the following to finish off the job

5 power weapon attacks at ws5(other librarian)
16 power weapon attacks at ws4(company champion, tech adept and two honour guard with power weapons)
4 regular attacks as ws4

hope this is all clear
 

·
Inquisitor
Joined
·
963 Posts
Heres a question for you... Im asking cause Im not real sure and I dont have the codex in front of me at the moment. Mephiston can use 3 powers in a turn right? Does anything stop him from using his Might of Heroes power 3 times on himself?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
275 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
you can only do one power of the same, e.g a farseer cant cast 2 fortunes (only eldrad can, in his own rules) lol

martin
 

·
Inquisitor
Joined
·
963 Posts
Does it say that in his rules or ????... I know thats not in any global rule other than no 2 shooting powers do to shooting restrictions. Thanks in advance.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
275 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
very true you had me for a sec but...

eldar codex, page 26

" a farseer can use a single powera turn"

marine codex, page 26 (wierd lol)

"a psyker can only use a single power in a turn"

hence my question whats a turn lol

martin
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
171 Posts
yes its a nasty tactic but the look on your opponents face when he loses his whole command unit and commander in one round of combat and you still have attacks leftover, and all of this before he gets to attack back is quite funny
 

·
Porn King!!!
Joined
·
8,137 Posts
Not sure about Mephiston but I am fairly sure Ahriman can used the same power multiple times per turn. It says something like that right in his description however.
 

·
Inquisitor
Joined
·
963 Posts
very true you had me for a sec but...

eldar codex, page 26

" a farseer can use a single powera turn"

marine codex, page 26 (wierd lol)

"a psyker can only use a single power in a turn"

hence my question whats a turn lol

martin
Well the deal here Martin is that certain people like Mephiston, Ahrimman, and Tzeentch sorcerors as well as a few other special characters are allowed to use multiple powers a turn.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
275 Posts
Discussion Starter #18
yer sorry bishop miss understud the question, in that case they say if you can use multipuls of the same power it says in there description.

martin
 

·
Inquisitor
Joined
·
963 Posts
Ok.. I just re-read codex Blood Angels and Mephiston has 3 powers + his force weapon that he may use every turn but he may not use any power twice. So no he couldnt use his might of heros 3 times like I was wondering.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
275 Posts
Discussion Starter #20
lol that would be funny thougth wouldnt it lol
 
1 - 20 of 22 Posts
Top