Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I use a Power Lance on a Space Marine Captain on a bike (whether it is good or not doesn't matter, it looks cool). And the other day my captain got charged so we checked the rule and it said that the weapon's first profile (the better stats) were used in a turn in which a model charges. Would I then get the benefit even though I didn't charge? Seeing as a power lance's profile is used for a model with a lance or a spear, I could see a model 'bracing for impact' with a power lance (so either way would make sense to me). Oh great Heresy Council of Elders, what do you guys think?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,071 Posts
Did your captain charge? No. Therefore, you use the second profile. IRL you might 'brace' as you say, but in terms if the rules you don't get the better profile.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,323 Posts
Deus and Moriouce got it right on this one, if you're not the one charging you don't get benefits. There is a precedent set (at least in my mind) with Rad Grenades out of the Inquisition Codex, their effects are specific to 'a turn in which a unit launches an assault, or is assaulted'. If Lances were supposed to be used in both scenarios we'd see similar wording, instead it states that the first profile is used 'on a turn in which a model (being the model equipped) charges; the second is used at all other times'. I can see how that first line concerning 'a model charges' would be a moment of confusion, but I really think that they meant it to be exclusive to the owning player's charge.

It's a shame there isn't something similar to the Halberd that the GK wield in the SM arsenal.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
326 Posts
That would be cool if they accounted for bracing against a charge as well, but I guess they didn't think of that when they made the rule.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,323 Posts
Yeah, counter attack flat gives you +1 attack when being charged. It doesn't say you get the +1 attack because you count as charging.
 
1 - 10 of 10 Posts
Top