Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
suppose my nob has a Power Klaw and a slugga (pistol). The rule book states that weapons such as Power Klaws (same thing as a Power Fist) don't get an additional attack from having a second CCW like a pistol, but does the model still benefit? Does a nob (with a Power Klaw and a pistol) get to make 3 attacks with a Power Klaw and one additional attack with base stats or does he only get the 3 Power Klaw attacks and not benefit from an additional CCW?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
468 Posts
Power Klaw + pistol won't grant an extra attack. Power fists/claws need to be in pairs to grant that benefit.

Weapon combinations are on p42 of the BRB.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
ah, but it only says the Power Klaw doesn't benefit from the extra attack, it doesn't say the nob doesn't get an extra attack. Its slightly vague and so the thought popped into my head that the nob could still get an extra attack from the pistol at his base stats without the added effect of a double strenth power weapon attack.

If this is not the case then it truly makes no sense to ever leave him with a pistol since he can upgrade to a shoota for free (but I suppose that is making this into a very specific question rather than a rules one).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,648 Posts
All attacks by a model are made as if they were with the Power Weapon. You do NOT gain ANY additional attacks for having a Powerfist/Klaw and a CCW.
CCW+CCW=+1A
PF+PF=+1A
CCW+PF=NO EXTRA ATTACK
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
468 Posts
ah, but it only says the Power Klaw doesn't benefit from the extra attack, it doesn't say the nob doesn't get an extra attack. Its slightly vague and so the thought popped into my head that the nob could still get an extra attack from the pistol at his base stats without the added effect of a double strenth power weapon attack.
Under "A normal and a special weapon" - Only a second power fist, thunder hammer or lightning claw can confer a bonus attack to a model equipped with one of these weapons.

The model benefits from the attack, not the power claw.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Under "A normal and a special weapon" - Only a second power fist, thunder hammer or lightning claw can confer a bonus attack to a model equipped with one of these weapons.

The model benefits from the attack, not the power claw.
What you just said directly conflicts with, well, what you just said. If only a second power fist, thunder hammer or lightning claw can confer a bonus attack to a model equiped with one of these weapons, then the model doesn't benefit from the extra attack because a model equiped with that weapon that forbids the model from receiving extra attacks.

If what you wrote is the rules as written, then I shouldn't have asked this question in the first place, I should have read the rules better >_<
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
468 Posts
Those are the rules as written.

And when I said
The model benefits from the attack, not the power claw.
I was replying to
ah, but it only says the Power Klaw doesn't benefit from the extra attack, it doesn't say the nob doesn't get an extra attack.
I even quoted it. The power claw does not have or gain any attacks, the model gains an attack - provided that model meets the criteria for such a bonus, i.e. has double power fists/power claws/power klaws/thunder hammers/lightning claws.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
365 Posts
I vaguely remember some rules on mixed close combat weapons (sadly I can't give a page reference). The example was a model armed with a Power weapon and a Power Fist. If the user chooses to strike with the power weapon, he gains +1 attack from the Power Fist as it's a close combat weapon and power weapons make no such exception to this rule. If however he strikes with the power fist, he gains the double strength bonus, but not +1 Attack, as the rules for power fists state that you can only gain +1 attack from another power fist.

To answer your question, you could strike using the pistol (counting it as a close combat weapon) and gain +1 attack, but you would do so with none of the Power Klaw's perks.

I know the wording of "A normal and a special weapon" sounds like it specifically countermands this, but that could be the wording taken too literally, considering this little shoutbox seemed to specifically address that issue.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,719 Posts
A model may NEVER gain an extra attack for CCWs if armed with two different special weapons. BRB pg 42 under "Two Different Special Weapons".
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
365 Posts
Aha, I just 'updated' my copy of 5th Ed and that's what the rules now state. Which is a shame, since it takes the fun out of things like Chaos Champions armed with a power sword and fist. Well, actually it doesn't, I just don't get +1A for it.
 
1 - 11 of 11 Posts
Top