Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I keep seeing lists with the command squad outfitted with 3 plasmas and a medic. Im not saying it dosent work im just not sure why people dont take 4 plasmas and drop the medic. Im new to 5th ed, so please correct me if im wrong(thats kinda the point of this thread cause im still trying to make sure i understand everything right). The medic provides the unit with feel no pain rule, and that allows you to atempt a (for lack of a better term) 2nd save of 4+ on previously unsaved wounds if the wound dosent double the toughness off the unit, or have an ap of 1 or 2. SO basically u get the feel no pain if you arent suffering an istant kill wound. Which is why im confused, cause im reading that people do 3 plasmas and a medic to use the feel no pain to help protect them from the get hot rule on the plasma, but since the plasmas str. doubles the toughness wouldnt it negate the feel no pain ability? Feel no pain is sweet on plaugebearers cause their toughness is 5 so its rare to find them in a sit. that negates their ability to feel no pain, but on models with toughness 3 it just seems like a waste compared to the option of getting a possible 3 extra plasma shots.

So please correct me if im wrong, so i can feild a proper squad. And if im not wrong, please inform me as why people still feild this squad opposed to 4 plasmas and no medic. Im very curios as to how this works.

·
Registered
2,976 Posts
The "Get's Hot!" rule doesn't have a strength. It's not the guy getting shot by the weapon, it's the guy getting burnt by an overheating gun. As such, the wound it causes does not cause Instant Death, but just a normal, every day wound, against which FNP can be taken.