Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
834 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This will require an understanding of the rules. More importantly it will also require fundamental English skills.

Here's the only other post on the interweb that I could find.

http://commissar.proboards.com/index.cgi?action=display&board=Tanks&thread=11639&page=1#240927

Basically, this is a Pask "Crack Shot" ruling, unique to the 5th edition IG codex.

This rule will only ever apply to a tank with Pask at the helm.

Specifically, this rule will only ever apply to a tank with Pask the helm of a Vanquisher and/or a tank with multi-melta sponsons.

The Crack Shot rules says "when firing against a vehicle, all shots add +1 to any armour penetration rollS." Note the plural.

or "when firing at a monstrous creature, any hits that failed to wound may be re-rolled."

I've read the IG codex a million times over and I've never caught this before. Then again I've never played a vanquisher, as it is a niche tank. However a tank that fires (with Pask) a S8 + 2d6 + 2 is very, very impressive. It is still a niche tank (an expensive niche tank) but it will do it's sole job well.

I have to be honest, after reading the rule for an hour, I believe that the second roll granted by the Vanquisher, counts as an "any armour penetration roll."
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,976 Posts
Rolling 2d6 is still a single roll, so you would only ever add +1.

check P2 - Dice, where it mentions 2d6 as a single roll.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
834 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Fair enough, forget the vanquisher. What about any Pask tank with multi-meltas? Surely they would be S8 + 2d6 + 1 (AP 1) + 1 (Crack shot)?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,584 Posts
The Crack Shot rules says "when firing against a vehicle, all shots add +1 to any armour penetration rollS." Note the plural.
The armour penentration roll is the S of the weapon (8) plus the 2D6 for the vanquisher cannon plus the extra one for Pask: 8+2D6+1

Then look up the rules for AP1... simples. :)

edit; on my lunch-break at work so don't have the BRB in front of me but the AP1 bonus should be on the summary sheet near the back.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,976 Posts
It is certainly appearing to be the case.

Bishop. Any way to clarify that or perhaps a page reference? It would be greatly appreciated.
P61, "AP1 weapons". AP1 gives +1 on the damage roll, rather than the penetration roll.


A friend of mine runs Pask in a vanquisher, and does quite well with it. With Las cannons as well, you've got a very decent chance of destroying a vehicle a turn. Depends on whether you need the extra long range AT really. There are arguments about whether Pask is worth it in the high end Hardcore Tournament lists, but in a normal list, he can do you well.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
50 Posts
When i first thought of this i was sure that it could not be true, and am glad that it wasn't. Pask would be far too good if that was the case, and vanquisher cannons and meltas really don't need an extra +1, its not that part which they fail at.

And a Paskquisher isn't that bad, just not the best thing you could get. They still look awesome though. Only really come to the fore when in spearhead or apocalypse with a co-axial stubber.
 
1 - 14 of 14 Posts
Top