Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,755 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
so..ive been teaching this young fella to plays his AM..and a few funny things have popped up regarding pask..
ive been reading that pask cant be the warlord because he has no LD value..as the model with the highest LD must be the Warlord..
is this the case??
if their is a CCS then they have to be the warlord?
what if there is no CCS but a priest or psyker would they then become the warlord even though they are not HQ's?

im sorry if this is stupid but RAW and RAI always gets me..and i really dont want to teach the young guy something wrong..please help
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,323 Posts
From the Tank Commander entry (sorry, no page number due to digital version):

The Tank Commander’s tank is a character, has Ballistic Skill 4 and can be
chosen as your army’s Warlord.
Since Pask is a Tank Commander he is covered under this sentence. There's also the contingency in the Warlord Traits table for Tank Commanders, and that Pask automatically has the Warlord Trait Old Grudges if he is selected as Warlord as per his entry. I'd say you're good going on teaching them that Pask can be their Warlord my friend :eek:k:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,755 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
From the Tank Commander entry (sorry, no page number due to digital version):



Since Pask is a Tank Commander he is covered under this sentence.
this is what i can see too..but B&C..dakka..and another one all state that the BRB says it cant be done due to no LD value...
but i still cant see a problem with pask being the warlord

http://www.bolterandchainsword.com/topic/290852-slay-the-warlord/
http://www.warseer.com/forums/showthread.php?393050-Tank-Commander-(and-Pask)-being-your-warlord
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,195 Posts
On vacation so don't have my dex handy.... I want to say tank commanders had a table of thier own warlord traits?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,323 Posts
but B&C..dakka
Are both wrong. Why would the dex have all that info and not allow it?!

Check out pg. 13 of the BRB, Basic vs. Advanced. In summary (because I'm not typing that whole thing out), Basic rules are covered by the BRB and Advanced rules are covered in Codices.

Where advanced rules apply to a specific model, they always override any contradicting basic rules.
blah blah blah,

On rare occasions, a conflict will arise between...this rulebook and one printed in a codex. Where this occurs, the rule printed in the codex or Army List Entry always takes precedence.
...and again, suck it B&C and Dakka. Furthermore, pg. 124 under The Warlord:

When choosing your army, you must nominate one model to be your Warlord. Unless specified otherwise, this must be a Character model. If you do not have any character models in your army, then select any other model in your army to be the Warlord.

Nothing about Leadership values (that was 6th edition). It doesn't stipulate 'Independent Character', 'highest Ld value', or anything of the sort; which is good because, you know, Unbound armies.

Satisfied yet there buddy?



On vacation
Very jealous. Hope it's a good one!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,755 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Are both wrong. Why would the dex have all that info and not allow it?!

Check out pg. 13 of the BRB, Basic vs. Advanced. In summary (because I'm not typing that whole thing out), Basic rules are covered by the BRB and Advanced rules are covered in Codices.



blah blah blah,



...and again, suck it B&C and Dakka. Furthermore, pg. 124 under The Warlord:




Nothing about Leadership values (that was 6th edition). It doesn't stipulate 'Independent Character', 'highest Ld value', or anything of the sort; which is good because, you know, Unbound armies.

Satisfied yet there buddy?





Very jealous. Hope it's a good one!
cheers man..i just want to be realy sure you know cause im teaching him
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,195 Posts
So far so good, even got permission to buy the Stormclaw set.

I boggle at the fact people are arguing against a TC warlord. GW is going out of it's way to allow it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,323 Posts
cheers man..i just want to be realy sure you know cause im teaching him
Oh for sure, as an instructor of many things (seems to be where every job ends up) I very much understand and appreciate the quest for knowledge. Hope it's all clear, I'm glad I finally have a copy of the BRB that isn't the digital version (aka. a waste of time and money) so I can give page numbers when I cite things. Glad it helped! :eek:k:

So far so good, even got permission to buy the Stormclaw set.

I boggle at the fact people are arguing against a TC warlord. GW is going out of it's way to allow it.
Most excellent! I admit, I would have been very happy to see some Blood Angels up in the box but we can't win them all. My girlfriend is on notice about that release, whenever it happens :laugh:

GW has gone so far out of their way to allow TC Warlords that maybe it seems too easy to some people. Wonder if it's the same people that argue about what is and isn't allowed in Unbound lists on the internet as opposed to with people they actually play with...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
773 Posts
Yeah

When choosing your army, you must nominate one model to be your Warlord. Unless specified otherwise, this must be a character model. If you do not have any character models in your army, then select any other model in your army to be the Warlord. The model you choose as your Warlord also determines your Primary Detachment.
This also meant that I actually had in a recent game the leader of my army being a Helbrute Murderpack Champion. He was made leader because the army was a Murderpack, 3 Mayhem Packs and 2 Maulerfiends (+ an Aegis with comms and a Voidshield Gen). Though I would have preferred one of the Mayhems to be leader, but the Murderpack had to take it as a Char. Same would have gone for Cultist Champ if I would have gone for a Helcult (and what an easy char for slay the warlord to get).

Oh in addition to this one of the fun things is that a Wraithlord can be your leader in an Eldar army as he is a char. Stupidly the Iyanden book tells you as a special rule they can be your warlord even though it was never required.
 

·
Entropy Fetishist
Joined
·
4,249 Posts
Oh in addition to this one of the fun things is that a Wraithlord can be your leader in an Eldar army as he is a char. Stupidly the Iyanden book tells you as a special rule they can be your warlord even though it was never required.
to be fair, Iyanden was released in 6e. And was the first supplement, actually, when they didn't exactly have the wording right, so didn't even allow allying Iyanden to Codex:Eldar (like later supplements did to parent codexes--for all that detachments in factions have shifted around, now, in 7e).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
773 Posts
to be fair, Iyanden was released in 6e. And was the first supplement, actually, when they didn't exactly have the wording right, so didn't even allow allying Iyanden to Codex:Eldar (like later supplements did to parent codexes--for all that detachments in factions have shifted around, now, in 7e).
Well TBH there was no point in allying Iyanden to Eldar as Iyanden was the same as Eldar with an extra set of optional Relics and a couple of rules that gave them more options (aka more spirit seers if you want) but with no draw backs.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,195 Posts
Since Pask is the topic I wonder, can you add him to a Lord of War tank?
 

·
Entropy Fetishist
Joined
·
4,249 Posts
Since Pask is the topic I wonder, can you add him to a Lord of War tank?
Nope, no more than you can a Wyvern or Chimera. The rules for Tank Commanders specify you have to pick a Leman Russ variant.
 

·
Entropy Fetishist
Joined
·
4,249 Posts
Well TBH there was no point in allying Iyanden to Eldar as Iyanden was the same as Eldar with an extra set of optional Relics and a couple of rules that gave them more options (aka more spirit seers if you want) but with no draw backs.
...like no point in allying Crimson Slaughter to CSM? What if you want the Wraithforge Stone and the Mantle of the Laughing God (or in the CSM version: Balestar and the AoBF)? Or are legally spamming four Wraithknights? There are reasons a player might have wanted to be able to do that, even if some of them are distastefully spammy. Still, now in 7e you can freely take as many forge org charts as your points can buy, so...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
773 Posts
But in the case of the CSM / CS one, each can ONLY take from their own pool of relics. The Iyanden one allows you to take from either in an Iyanden army. Just not from both on the same character. So I could have an Iyanden Spirit Council with 2 Spirit Seers 1 has Wraithforged Stone, the other (still from the same HQ choice) has Mantle of the Laughing God.
Literally the only drawback from Iyanden is that the Spirit Seers HAVE TO take Voice of Twilight, rather than Conceal/Reveal as primus.
Otherwise they get access to the Iyanden Warlord traits (if they want) as well as the Eldar ones.
Spirit Councils mean they can take 1-5 seers as a single HQ choice (rather than just 1).
They get access to both Iyanden Relics and Eldar Relics (just not on the same char).
They have the additional option of having a Wraithknight as leader.
They get additional Cities of Death / Planetstrike Stratagems.
 
1 - 15 of 15 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top