Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

Just wanted to share my first of 6 GW Ork Barricades I started painting.

I tried some new things (well, new for me anyway) like the rust on the wheels for which I used the GW stippling brush, very diluted paint to try an create the impression the ground/dirt soiled the lower barricade parts and the freehand on the bomb.
I'd like to point out I took the picture in full sunlight (no flash) and as a result the whole thing looks quite clean. Guess the sun really brought out the silvery parts in the Boltgun metal paint :grin:

C&C welcome

·
Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Ork Barricade #2 done

Hello,

Well, it took almost 4 months, but the second one is finished. I wanted the same look and feel as the first barricade, a combination of old metal parts and freshly looted war debris. I used a slightly different approach for the darker metal. I used a heavy drybrush of Tin Bitz and Boltgun, followed by a Devlan Mud and Badab Black wash. The rust parts are painted Boltgun metal, washed DM and BB and with three stages of stippling: Scorched Brown, Macharius Solar Orange and Blazing Orange.

·
Registered
107 Posts
looks great, very ork-ish.

·
Angryman
4,304 Posts
Impressive, i have a hard time lavishing detail on terrain pieces. These are very nicely done.

·
Premium Member
5,182 Posts
Very good looking terrain pieces. Some really good weathering on these. The second set of pictures look more carttony in colour. Is this just a lighting affect. Also what colour did you use on the central metal plate?

·
Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Thanks for the feedback everyone !

The second set of pictures look more carttony in colour. Is this just a lighting affect. Also what colour did you use on the central metal plate?