Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi everyone. this a question for IG players mostly. when i'm using ordnance weapons, do i roll first a roll to hit and after the scater dice? or i roll just the scater dice?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,025 Posts
ordanance weapons are just scatter as far as I can recall
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
6,544 Posts
It's under "Ordinance Weapons."

You roll the scatter dice plus 1d6 if the model firing was stationary, or 2d6 plus the scatter and pick the higher of the dice if you moved 6'' or less and fired. Also, in the case of models capable of firing indirectly (i.e. the Basilisk) you roll 2d6 and apply the higher die with the scatter dice.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
811 Posts
correct, with standard ordnance weaponry there is never a situation when you add the dice together, I had done this wrong for so many games.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
280 Posts
Right, but then you wouldn't be firing indirectly.
What gives you that impression? Just because an indirect weapon has LOS to the enemy doesn't mean it stops firing indirectly. Just because it's firing with LOS doesn't mean it loses the subsequent pinning test it causes (with the negative modifier if it's ordnance).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
30 Posts
I thought only Barrage weapons caused the pinning test? So Ork lobbas, IG mortars and Basilisks, and such like.

I don't remember reading it was Ordnance as a general thing, but I don't have my rules to hand to check...

johno
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
280 Posts
I thought only Barrage weapons caused the pinning test? So Ork lobbas, IG mortars and Basilisks, and such like.
That's what we're talking about... I think anyway.

By definition, indirect fire requires it to be indirect-- the very word means that there is no direct line of fire (i.e. line of sight) to the target.
Now you've made the mistake of trying to add reality to RAW. :p
 

·
Porn King!!!
Joined
·
8,137 Posts
Even an Indirect weapon can fire a direct shot. It just has the ability to do indirect shots as well. If the weapon description states it is a barrage weapon, the shot being indirect or direct has no bearing on this, it is still a barrage weapon.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
811 Posts
the payload is still traveling up and over, the weapon is probably incapable of firing any other way.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Wrong. At least in the case of the Basilisk, i can't answer for other weaponry. I know this because a friend of mine has a basilisk with the cannon facing paralell to the ground. Ruleswise, if a weapon has indirect fire you just designate a target, check range and LOS, and if you have none, you roll extra scatter as per indirect fire rules. Otherwise it's a normal ordnance shot. At least that's what i recall, and i re-read the rules fairly recently.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
280 Posts
Wrong. At least in the case of the Basilisk, i can't answer for other weaponry. I know this because a friend of mine has a basilisk with the cannon facing paralell to the ground. Ruleswise, if a weapon has indirect fire you just designate a target, check range and LOS, and if you have none, you roll extra scatter as per indirect fire rules. Otherwise it's a normal ordnance shot. At least that's what i recall, and i re-read the rules fairly recently.
Don't forget the pinning test it causes, it's why people with a Basilisk will often opt to fire indirectly if they think they have a decent chance of the target being out of minimum range regardless of LOS.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #19
i like the bassie but i have already 2 leman russes, and only one slot for heavy support.what do you suggest, a couple of mortars for barrages?
 
1 - 20 of 23 Posts
Top