Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
The Emperor Protects
Joined
·
5,262 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So I've only recently got back into TT this year, having been out since around 4th/5th ed. So could someone explain what the deal is with formations. Mainly:

- Are they official? Need opponents permission, are they usable in campaigns etc

- I know you have to take everything the formation lists. But can you take anything else? Or is the formation considered like a bound army, and anything else you want to take is an allied detachment. Or does the formation just take up slots on your FOC and you're free to add on what slots you have left.

- I don't have all the various White Dwarfs or Apocalypse books. But do the formations all come with their own points cost, or is it from the codex?

Because there seem to be some pretty hench and borderline OP formations kicking about.

Cheers
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
10,978 Posts
Formations are like taking a detachment, only instead of using the detachment rules, they typically have their own.

So generally you will have your core army detachment, using the minimum allotment of 1hq and 2 troops plus whatever else you fit in there. These will benefit from the detachment rules, which usually is Objective Secured.

Then you will have the further units needed to make up your formations. These will not benefit from the detachment rule, but will have their own as per the rules on their page.


They are perfectly permissible in the current ruleset. Some tournaments may take issue with them, and certain heavier formations can be somewhat unbalanced so should probably be discussed with an opponent beforehand. But in general they are just another part of your army.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,422 Posts
It's also important to note that a model can't be part of two detachments - so if you have two troops in your army and one of those is in a formation, you don't then have the force org slots filled in your combined arms primary detachment.
 

·
Entropy Fetishist
Joined
·
4,249 Posts
Your army is made up of detachments. You are allowed to make your army of as many detachments as you like, as long as you buy the minimum models necessary to fill out the detachment. Formations are just one type of detachment.

You're used to the "Standard Force Org" chart, which is now called a "Combined Arms Detachment." That is essentially a detachment in and of itself--one that grants a lot more freedom of choice in terms of what you can buy for units, but still just one other detachment option. There are other basic detachments like the Allied Detachment, which is like a half-price 1-HQ 1-Troops pretty limited CAD. Most armies that come out these days have some sort of unique twist on the CAD: the Grey Knights "Nemesis Strike Force," for instance, which lets folks start rolling for reserves on T1 and to run-then-fire when they DS in--but loses out on the CAD's "Objective Secured" rule for super-scoring Troops choices.

Formations are a type of detachment too, so are perfectly legal and valid in your army. They vary with how rigid they are, but most of the time are locked to a specific few units. Formations tend to crop up in a lot of different places: in White Dwarfs, in Codexes, in campaign supplements, in online-only dataslates and codex supplements... warp, even the Advent Calendar had a few this year! As it's hard to keep track of all the different formations possible to use, it's generally considered good practice to go over whatever formations are in your army and what special rules they grant. In almost all cases, formations don't have a points cost.

It's also important to note that a model can't be part of two detachments - so if you have two troops in your army and one of those is in a formation, you don't then have the force org slots filled in your combined arms primary detachment.
Of course the Necrons have to come along to make this inaccurate, but... in most cases, this.
 
1 - 5 of 5 Posts
Top