Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Rattlehead
6,741 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi

I'm fairly new to Fantasy, having only played two or three games.I've got a 1000pt+ force of Orcs and Goblins, which is just BfSP with a unit of Orcs, a BSB and a Boar-Mounted Big Boss. That army was to get to grips with the rules and testing the rules/what type of army I wanted. Now I know that I would like in an army:

Movement: This really started to annoy me with OnG.
Leadership: I hate Animosity. I also hate it when my units run off randomly, before being run down.
Close Combat: This is a really interesting stage of the game for my.
Magic: That's what makes Fantasy different from 40K, in my eyes.

I'm a fairly good painter, and I'm thinking of getting a new army which will be my main one. Using the great thread here on Heresy I've taken down the chooses to two: Ogre Kingdoms and Daemons of Chaos. I have had a little experience painting Daemons, and Ogres look kinda hard to do, but Ogres seem slightly better at some things... *looks at Leadbelchers and smiles...*

Can anyone give me advice on which would suit me better? And can anyone share with me some experience with either of the two armies?

Thanks,
Midnight

·
Registered
1,697 Posts
Deamons of chaos are a very good army so if your main concern is winning with as little effort as possible then they are probably the way to go.
OK is a weak army although the new rules may fix some of their problems added to this they're rumoured to get a new book. if you want a real challenge and a warm glow inside when you win then OK's are the way to go.
Both armies are fairly fast or at least have fast units available (How relevant this will be with random charges incomeing is debateable)
The deamons don't run away as such and the ogres causing fear helps somewhat although their ld is a joke for their size.