Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a little new to Black Library fiction so forgive me if this sounds a little strange. It seems that the fight scenes in Space Marine novels and short stories lavish lots of detail and attention on the Marines in close combat while the most you'll usually hear about Marines wielding bolters is "Squad A fired their bolters". You see, the humble bolter is actually my favorite weapon in 40k and it doesn't seem to get much time to shine. I know there are plenty of main characters who duel wield a bolt pistol and a melee weapon but that's not what I'm looking for, I'm talking about a regular two-handed bolter. Can any of you recommend me some fiction with a main character or at least secondary character who uses a bolter as their main weapon? Thanks in advance :)

·
Premium Member
5,028 Posts
Huh I never noticed that before. I can't actually think of a main character who uses a Bolter as the main weapon.

My favourite weapon is underused as well. The Lightning Claws.

·
Registered
2,628 Posts
Huh I never noticed that before. I can't actually think of a main character who uses a Bolter as the main weapon.

My favourite weapon is underused as well. The Lightning Claws.
Uriel Ventris? Other than when the zealously adhered too and constantly ignored Codex Astartes dictates the use of Flamer, Melta or Plasma units, or armaments for close quaters, the somewhat immortal Ultramarine Captain of the 4th always uses his bolter.

What of Loken, Tarvitz?

As for the latter, dosen`t one of Vandred`s Terminators and/or Uzas use Lightening Claws?:biggrin:

·
Premium Member
5,028 Posts
Uriel Ventris? Other than when the zealously adhered too and constantly ignored Codex Astartes dictates the use of Flamer, Melta or Plasma units, or armaments for close quaters, the somewhat immortal Ultramarine Captain of the 4th always uses his bolter.

What of Loken, Tarvitz?