Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,976 Posts
Oooh, I'll have to take a look. Then, I'll have to see who won the "how long with the nid's FAQ be?" contest.

Edit:
it's apparently 3 pages, and the file conversion is horrible. They'll have to work on making the damn thing more readable, if that's going to be their new FAQ layout...

Meanwhile, in other news, as per this thread here :shout:SOLKAN!:shout: wins the prize, for his prescient guess of 3 pages. Talthewicked is the runner up, with a guess of 2 pages (which is the next closest, if you take away the picture space). As promised, Solkan and Tal receive the internets and an internet cookie respectively. Enjoy those prizes boys :good: Thanks to everyone else who had a guess.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
28 Posts
Not that I play it, but I remember lots of ppl wondering if you can move the Stormraven flat-out and still fire a weapon from PotMS, so that one is still left out in the open. But otherwise, glad they got something out more quickly. Hope they keep it up for all armies and the new format is... okay I guess. Less wordy answers (I think more is better if they are providing examples for the answer) but the design is better. The Nid one got borked, so hopefully they re-upload it with better quality.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,976 Posts
:read: For nids, the important points that have come up a few times before:

1) Hive Tyrant reserve bonuses do not stack.

2) Hive Guard are now essentially a retinue, which can start seperately. Once joined, a Tyrant cannot leave them.

3) You can assault a spore mine, and only the first to touch it is affected, others can only move if the first guy survives (as they can no longer reach the target).

4) Outflankers and deepstrikers cannot use a trygon hole.

5) Mawlocs can deepstrike onto a unit. You CAN get cover saves against the attack.

6) using Psychic shooting powers on friendly units will stop you shooting/assaulting enemy units.

7) units with a Mycetic spore MUST use them.

8) Doom Of Malantai: Cover saves can be taken. It doesn't work on units in transports! NO more Doom arguments, Hooray! Where's Dethklokk, he'll be thrilled :drinks:

9) Shadow of the Warp doesn't work on guys inside transports:shok: Ok, so.... about those "psychic hood" things.....

All I can say is that they answered a few of the most contentious, but not really everything... Also, the rulings for #2 and #9 are absolutely terrible.

BA FAQ:

1) Demolisher Cannon is large blast, as we all knew would happen.

2) Sanguinary Priests need to be in range when attacks are made to give the bonuses with the chalice, not just when the unit makes the assault. (called this one :good:). Would apply to the Furious Charge from Tervigons as well I'd say.

3) Vehicles do gain cover from Shield of Sanguinius.

4) DC tycho cannot join a unit.

Not too bad, though even shorter than the nid's one. I expect there are still a few things they've missed, though I don't know the BA book very well.

Fuck me ... I forgot all about the number of pages post .... they say the memory is the first thing to go, I forget what happens after that.:)
Haha, good guess though man, if they hadn't put in the two pictures, you might have been the closest :laugh:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,122 Posts
the main things that i love are;

1 - Doom can NOT affect troops in a transport and you will get cover saves. So much for lots of people using Doom then.
2 - Banahees masks still strike at I10 agians whips whihc is much better than my "they cancel each other" house rule.(Since i'm a Eldar player first :laugh:)

Things i Hate are;

1 - You MUST use the spore whihc i think will make the all ready rarely seen spore's even rarer now becuase of this.
2 - Perils of the Warp doesn't effect tranpsorted people...........what the hell GW. what about the Pyscich hood? If you have a rule then stick to it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,539 Posts
Good FAQ for the Nids. Decent FAQ for the Blood Angels.. I'm mostly pissed about the ruling for Sanguinary Priest's Furious Charge bubble. It's going to be a lot harder to coordinate assaults with multiple units now. Majorly irritating.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
592 Posts
What I find odd for the 'Nid FAQ is the cover save from the "Terror from the Deep" ability.

But otherwise, everything seems sensible and a good overall FAQ. I'm almost surprised they actually mentioned the Doom of Malan'tai, considering that a lot of people feel they leave the major issues unsolved a lot of the times :)

Edit: I take that back. Just spotted this:

Q: Does Shadow in the Warp affect psykers who are
taking a Psychic test whilst embarked within a
transport vehicle?
A: No.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
436 Posts
LOL. My buddy who attaches a prime to 19 devil gaunts and Mycetics them in is going to be really pissed.

No IC's in Mycetics!

Oh well, the Tyranids are supposed to be unlike any known race in the Milky Way, right?
Perhaps this applies to the rules for them as well.


Overall, no complaints here. I'm actually very excited that Tyrants cannot be picked out from their Tyrant Guard in Close Combat anymore. Fun stuff.
*Gives the bird to all those Force Weapon insta death causing librarians*
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,122 Posts
I'm actually very excited that Tyrants cannot be picked out from their Tyrant Guard in Close Combat anymore. Fun stuff.
*Gives the bird to all those Force Weapon insta death causing librarians*
And suddenly Mephiston started to cry as he now might be knocked from the top of the combat beasty list. What with the meat shields.

Overall not too bad (except the Shadow in the Warp crap) and i'm looking forward to using these rules. Also Tyrant cna now deep strike!!!!! :shok:
 

·
blahblahblahblah
Joined
·
6,663 Posts
at least the demolisher cannons fixed, finally we can shut up all the morons who actually thought it was deliberate.

and what do you know, nothing saying that Tycho is an upgrade to a DC, what a shock that is

are you supposed to be able to read the tyranid one?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,314 Posts
Q: Does Shadow in the Warp affect psykers who are
taking a Psychic test whilst embarked within a
transport vehicle?
A: No.
I like this one, means Psychic Hoods don't work on embarked people either, but yours Do work from inside the vehicle. Together with the Shield change to affect vehilces is a good boost for Blood Angels.

Oh yeah when I said I liked it, it's crazy.

Aramoro
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,539 Posts
I like this one, means Psychic Hoods don't work on embarked people either, but yours Do work from inside the vehicle. Together with the Shield change to affect vehilces is a good boost for Blood Angels.

Oh yeah when I said I liked it, it's crazy.

Aramoro
Except no on both accounts. People have been using Shield on vehicles since the Codex came out and you can still psychic hood stuff when people are embarked. FAQs don't effect armies other than the one that they're written for.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
596 Posts
The real question for the day is who won the pool for how long the Tyranid FAQ was going to be when it finally came out? I can't find the thread anymore.


Except no on both accounts. People have been using Shield on vehicles since the Codex came out and you can still psychic hood stuff when people are embarked. FAQs don't effect armies other than the one that they're written for.
So you're saying that Tyranid players should go out and expect discussions about how their Counter-Attack interacts with defensive grenades, since the Space Wolf ruling doesn't affect them? Or Counter-Attack triggering Furious Charge? :whistle:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
592 Posts
So you're saying that Tyranid players should go out and expect discussions about how their Counter-Attack interacts with defensive grenades, since the Space Wolf ruling doesn't affect them? Or Counter-Attack triggering Furious Charge? :whistle:
There is a difference between a USR and two different special abilities that work in different manners.

That being said, the Shadow in the Warp was a dick move that was not necessary on GW's part.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,645 Posts
To me, the ruling on the Doom/SitW on vehicles is a 'final' nail in the coffin. I may be crucified for saying this but nidz sorta needed it.

Losing EW was worth those two but now...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,648 Posts
The FAQ makes me sad. I don't think I will be playing my nids anymore for a while until the sadness goes away.

The Mycetic Spore rulings to do with deployment and ICs are out of the blue.
SotW not working on embarked psykers is the final nail in the coffin of the only army that can't mech-up even if it wanted to. Nids already struggle vs mech lists, and now people have even more reasons to take vehicles against them. The BRB and this FAQ are now dictating what nid players MUST include in their lists if they want to stand a chance of winning. Sad.
 
1 - 20 of 54 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top