Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Me and my brother are new to Warhammer 40k, he's playing orks and i am trying to help him get his army started. What point level is good to learn orks? Right now he has a ork battleforce box, a lootas box 3 aobr deffcoptas and a box of boyz. Can anyone help us?

·
Registered
3 Posts
When I first started 40k I started doing 600 points. I recommend this points value as it offers fairly fast games but still allows enough points for some cool models. once you get the hang of the rules you can move on to 850 or 1000 point games or even more depending on how much you want to expand your army's.

·
Registered
38 Posts
I am fairly new to orks myself but I'd like to try and help you. What he has right now is not a bad start even though its missing an HQ, however you can use the mek from the lootas as a big-mek temporarily at least. With what he has I'd run something like this :

HQ

Big Mek 105
- eavy armor
- boss pole
- cybork body
- kustom force field

Troops

20 Boyz 130
- 2x big shoota
- 18 shoota

10 Boyz 100
- big shoota
- 9 shoota
- trukk w/ big shoota

Fast Attack

3 Warbikers 75

Deffkopta 45
- rokkit launcha

Deffkopta 45
- rokkit launcha

total 500

I'd say run the mek in the trukk with the 10 boyz and keep the truck within 6 of some of the 20 boyz so they get the benefit from the field. If the warbikers still have their arms un-attached I'd say he's well on his way to making a solid army, if they are already attached then its just a future investment to make. Once he has another 1-5 bikers you can kit them out as nobs/warboss/painboy with power klaws and the proper equipment to make them look right. Nob biker squads with a painboy and a warboss on a bike are a nasty ork unit right now. Hope this works out for him.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Only advice I can give you is enjoy collecting. My Ork army and bitz have taken over a room.