Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone! I am preety new to this hobby, only got introduced last week during my trip to England, after which I immdiately got my hands on the dark vengeance set. I assembled all of them and even went to get some Acrylic paint and a primer, and after I primed them all, I started painting. In an understatement, it wasn't that good as I saw it in the shop. I practicly ruined two models by trying to paint them, I don't know if the paint I used was no good cause it wasn't that Citadel paint I didn't buy, or maybe I suck really hard, or maybe I used a bad primer? (But how wrong can you go there it said "primer" and "works on plastic" though it's a bit grainy) So I don't know, But I don't dare touch any of my other miniatures, before I can get some help\advice, any appreciated, thanks!

·
Super Moderator
6,195 Posts
Welcome to HO, can you provide more detail on how they are ruined? Or even better some pictures?

·
Mad as a sack of Squigs
2,035 Posts
If the primer is comimg up sandy/grainy its probably due to damp/humifity. I tend to leave mine sitting in warm water before shaking the can for a solid 2 minutes prior to applicagion. What paints did you use as you maybe able to strip the paint off and start again

·
Super Moderator
6,195 Posts
Looks like a mix of priming issues and too thick paint.

When priming you want to do as suggested above if it is humid. Less is better than more also.

Painting you want to thin your paint down with water till it is like milk or a bit thicker. Then again less is better in this case also. The less you put on the model all at once the more the model detail shows.

Also can see that you missed mold lines and when the bits connected to the sprue. Scraping the mold lined away and cleaning the sprue connection s up will also improve overall look of the models.