Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Let me start off by saying hello and thank you for selecting to read this plea for help!=D

Im new to Warhammer and just went 50/50 on a dark vengence set and am getting the Dark Angels and have been told i can model the DA to look like GK becuse GK are the army i trully want to go with.

1.) Whats a good 2k point list? i like to be able to dish out damage with out being as weak as paper. my main concern is going again like Tau.

·
Registered
303 Posts
Well first and foremost welcome to Grey Knights! Unfortunately I can't imagine a way of modeling the Dark Vengeance Dark Angels to look like Grey Knights without quite a bit of modelling and extra bits. The Knights are armed with storm bolters and swords (mostly) which the DV box lacks in extras.

Second, I would read the Codex and assemble a 2k list based upon what you want to bring. There are certain units many will regard as "must have" but you need to give us something to critique. The Army List section is for you to bring a list to look at not for us to tell you what to do.

·
Registered
1,846 Posts
There are actually a few decent Grey Knight builds, all of which are perfectly viable at 2000pts. They can also be fairly variable in playstyle- some are very aggressive (stuff like Dual Stormraven lists) whereas others tend to be a bit more balanced (Hybrid GK or Henchmen).

It really depends on what you want your army to do, but if I were to suggest a good army to learn the game on, it'd be something very similar to what I run- Hybrid Grey Knights. This army brings a bit of everything, so you'll be exposed to most of the facets of the game, and hence be able to learn by doing. A list without allies would look something like-

Inquisitor Coteaz

Grey Knight Strike Squad (10 Strong) with 2 Psycannons, Psyammo, Rhino
Grey Knight Strike Squad (10 Strong) with 2 Psycannons, Psyammo, Rhino