Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,067 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm a beginner at doing conversions and would like to try it out.

Where can I get plasticard and Greenstuff?

Which conversions would suit a beginner?

Any other advice would be appreciated. :)

·
Miniature's Surgeon
881 Posts
oh boy where to begin...
Plasticard you can get from places like Bits&Kits. You're in UK right? You might have a Modelzone shop near you, they might have some. Otherwise recycle packaging is always a good option (although it's not the same as true plasicard).
Greenstuff you can get online. Modelzone will have Milliput. But if you're a beginner converter and perhaps sculptor, maybe go for milliput as it's good for gap filling, it's cheaper and larger quanitity than GS.

Things to convert:
Try to begin with just altering your existing models. Use old ones as experiments. And start getting into pinning every joint on new models as you build them. That'll get you into practice for posing them in dramatic postions later.

Common areas to convert are things like; Heads, Weapons, Poses, then adding stuff. More advanced is when you start to remove stuff, hacking and merging things. This is when the milliput comes in handy. More advance than that starts to involve fabricating around parts, trims, details, some thought upon layout/design.
There's loads more that could be added, but I fear I may waffle into 'become one with the minature sky converter'. Woops already done it, sorry.

Bases are a good place to start - Try to add to the overall model without actually adding to the model itself is tricky. But it'll get you into the mindset of what 'suits' the model. And sometimes the environment would have an effect on the model, so it could give ideas to how to convert the model. EG; Acid swamp base may = Trooper is corroded/ melted/ burnt. Jungle base may = camo on trooper with added leaf/net cloak.