1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
nice boy, daft though !
10,212 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
All right thanks for the feedback. I've got no other way to do robes that I know I as such, but I was aiming for a sort of aged/worn/dirty look.

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks for the advice. Im fairly new to 40k and that was my first robe ever, so its not bad per se. How do you suggest going from dark to light? Blending the colours or just layer upon layer?

Cheers.

·
Registered
409 Posts
Thanks for the advice. Im fairly new to 40k and that was my first robe ever, so its not bad per se. How do you suggest going from dark to light? Blending the colours or just layer upon layer?

Cheers.
I like the effect you are going for bud.

Just progressively build up the layers. If you are aiming for a used/battle worn look keep the highlights more muted than crisp and sharp.

The technique I would use would be a basecoat of the darker coloured robe. For example, I use Vallejo paints but would go for a black undercoat, a dark brown base and then as I build up to the outer folds/creases I would add perhaps Green Ochre or Iraqi Sand. I always avoid using white as it tends to look too sharp. The robe will have a deep base colour within the folds but maybe three or four layers on the creases.

Hope that makes sense :)

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
I like the effect you are going for bud.

Just progressively build up the layers. If you are aiming for a used/battle worn look keep the highlights more muted than crisp and sharp.

The technique I would use would be a basecoat of the darker coloured robe. For example, I use Vallejo paints but would go for a black undercoat, a dark brown base and then as I build up to the outer folds/creases I would add perhaps Green Ochre or Iraqi Sand. I always avoid using white as it tends to look too sharp. The robe will have a deep base colour within the folds but maybe three or four layers on the creases.