Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Executive Nitpicker
Joined
·
8,276 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, in reading over the new dex I got into an argument with my brother over a new rule.

Ok, p81, under Icons and Deep Striking...

It says that if an icon is in a transport, you measure 6" from the edge of the transport when deploying deep-strikers (demons or teleporters, not JPs/wings). This implies an exception to the long held rule that an icon, character or piece of wargear inside a transport doesn't qualify as being on the table. However, it doesn't explicitly say that the icon is on the table, just that you can use it while in a transport.

However, at the end of the paragraph it also states that the Icon must be *on the table* at the beginning of the round.

So, do transported items count as being on the table now? Does the rule contradict itself? Or is it just a poorly worded exception to the normal rules and the last bit is just to prevent reserves from coming in and summoning?
 

·
Powered by Squig Tea
Joined
·
7,589 Posts
Erm, ah, duh, um Dunno. Odd one that, not got the book yet but my only suggestion is Check the GW sites for clarification, its bound to pop up when the Codex is in full circulation. Classic GW confusion though :wink: .
 

·
Executive Nitpicker
Joined
·
8,276 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
But the end of the rule says that the icon must be *on the board* at the beginning of the turn. If it's in the transport it's not on the board, is it? Meanwhile, nothing in the rule says 'the icon counts as being on the table as long as the transport is' or 'count the transport as being the icon' etc. Nothing in the first part of the rule directly exempts the icon from the rule that says items being transported aren't on the board.

I know it's a bit of an academic nit-pickety quibble, but that's exactly what the internet is for ;-)
 

·
Porn King!!!
Joined
·
8,137 Posts
This would mean that you cannot use an Icon in a transport that just moved onto the table in that phase through reserved Gal. So long as the transport is on the table already at the beginning of the turn, the icon can be used within it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
138 Posts
The BGB FAQ states that MODELS are not physically on the table. The UNIT however is on the table*. Being inside a vehicle just means it interacts with the game in a different way to normal.


*otherwise you get into all sorts of sillyness such as units being transported suddenly giving up all VPs at the end of the game because they are "off-table" and so count as destroyed...
 

·
Executive Nitpicker
Joined
·
8,276 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
True, but the icon is a piece of wargear held by a particular model, it's not an aspect of the unit as a whole. It doesn't say 'the unit must be on the table'

A psyker in a transport can't use his powers until his model touches the felt (Possible exception for using shooting based powers out a fire port). A model with a teleport homer can't call in terminators until he;s out of his transport, because the model with the equipment isn't on the table.

I'm not saying the intent isn't clear enough, I'm just saying the rule is badly written and open to abusive readings.
 

·
Porn King!!!
Joined
·
8,137 Posts
Pg 81 of the new chaos book says:

"If the Icon bearer is inside a transport, then the range of the Icon is 6" from the transport vehicle itself."

This is a stated exception to the BGB rules that allows you to summon and deep strike to the icon even if it is in the transport. The final sentence refers to the fact that the unit must be on the table at the beginning of a turn, be it in or outside of the vehicle. This is to prevent people from getting bikes on in reserve, turboboosting them 24", and summoning from there. It doesn't mean that they have to been on foot on the table as the above rule clearly states that they do not.
 

·
Executive Nitpicker
Joined
·
8,276 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
<shrugs> I still think it could have been stated more clearly
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
325 Posts
Galahad said:
<shrugs> I still think it could have been stated more clearly
How could it get more clear than "If the Icon bearer is inside a transport, then the range of the Icon is 6" from the transport vehicle itself"?
 

·
Executive Nitpicker
Joined
·
8,276 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
"If the icon bearer is inside a transport then the icon counts as being on the table and the range of the icon is 6" from the hull."
 
1 - 11 of 11 Posts
Top