Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
800 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ive been thinking bout starting a SM army, i might go back and start with dark angels again but i used to do that years ago and might try somthing new

ive been thinking templers space wolves or grey nights

what you guys think on them any hints ?

·
Jac "Baneblade" O'Bite
8,082 Posts
I'm not a expert on Black Templers however GK's I can give you some hints on.

First: if your going pure GK your force is going to be very small in number due to teh high point cost of all their units and thus may struggle vs Hordes purely because of the lack of models.

Second: Antitank is a big problem for Gk's. They have very little in the way of antitank and what they do have is usually vechile mounted and as such gets targeted pretty fast.

Third: GK's are primarily designed to fight Deamons. The majority of their special rules are related to this. So against deamons your going to decimate. Against others you may have a little more trouble.

The up side is however that GK's do kick ass in both CC due to the Nemis Force Weapons and in shooting due to the storm bolters. They are the best of the best and really cause headaches. It takes a lot of skill to use them well.

·
Registered
800 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thanks that helps alot.. im really interested in GK the modles look some of the best and those nemesis force weopens and storm bolters as average weopen is really good... but i was thinking bout the high point cost... i will be buying about 2,000 points of the army i choose because im getting back into it and wanna start a fresh so leaving my death guard behind. thanks for help mate

any more ?

·
Registered
1,065 Posts
I play Dark Angels and Grey Knights.
If you have any Qs on these I would be glad to help.