Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
232 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone, i really really need your help. ive been playing 40k for about 5 years now and have always played a fluffy fun list that wasnt designed just to win. But after a horrific losing streak i would love a win once in a while. so my question is, how does one build a competitive space marine list? i have atleast one of every unit in the codex (beside special characters) so feel free to throw any ideas out. Thank you so much for your time and help!

·
Registered
14 Posts
How big should the list be point-wise?

I'd sugget Terminators in Land Raiders. The Land Raider can soften up those genestealers and what-not, especially a Redeemer, as the Flamestorm Cannon rules. A S6 AP3 weapon that doesn't need to roll to hit. Anything average toughness (T4) without an invulnerable save or multiple wounds will be killed on a 2+. They'll cost a bomb of points, but the Raider has the assault vehicle special rule; which allows the occupants to assualt the turn they disembark, throwing your completly unharmed Termies straight into combat. Yes, I really am advising to assault the 'nids, it's a case of charge or be charged. If you go with the lightning claw variants, you'll get re-rolls to wound, ignore armour saves and still keep your base initiative of 4. As they come in pairs, you'll get an extra attack, making 2 base, +1 for the pair, +1 for charging making 4 attacks each, or 20 for a squad of 5 Terminators.