Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
In 5th edition, does it still get a bonus for armor a penetration for having AP1 on it's center hole? I remember that was very helpful in many previous battles (giving the Monolith the equivalent of an S10 weapon that can never be destroyed), but somebody challenged that in my last game.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
468 Posts
The Necron codex states that any model under the hole takes an AP1 hit.

The Necron FAQ restates it - "Any model directly under the centre of the large blast template of the particle whip takes an AP1 hit."

AP1 gives +1 on the vehicle damage chart.

If the marker scatters so that the hole is not over the vehicle, it will cause an AP3 hit at half strength, but still gets to roll two dice and pick the highest.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,822 Posts
Note that the AP1 hit is no longer applied to the model under the hole but can be allocated to any model in the unit, per the Necron FAQ:

Q. Can the AP1 hit from the particle whip be
assigned to any member of a squad or does it
have to be assigned to the model under the
centre of the template?
A. Any model directly under the centre of the
large blast template of the particle whip takes an
AP1 hit. The rules for blast weapons state that the
defending player may remove casualties from the
unit as a whole, not necessarily those under the
template, and this rule still applies here, so the
player can assign the AP1 hit to any model in the
unit.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Note that the AP1 hit is no longer applied to the model under the hole but can be allocated to any model in the unit, per the Necron FAQ:

Q. Can the AP1 hit from the particle whip be
assigned to any member of a squad or does it
have to be assigned to the model under the
centre of the template?
A. Any model directly under the centre of the
large blast template of the particle whip takes an
AP1 hit. The rules for blast weapons state that the
defending player may remove casualties from the
unit as a whole, not necessarily those under the
template, and this rule still applies here, so the
player can assign the AP1 hit to any model in the
unit.
Ah, I already knew that. Just on vehicles is what I'm saying so it gets a +1 to armor pen.
 
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
Top