Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
326 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I can't find anything in the rules about this. I assume it is, therefore, not a problem, but just in case:

If I were to field a custom chapter, could I include unique units from the founding chapter? For example, if I played an Ultramarine successor, could I include Marneus? The rules seem like that'd be fine (especially since all that means is that I'm playing Ultramarines that look different), but I don't know if I'm missing something. Further, do other players tend to be cool with that sort of thing?

Thanks for any help.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
326 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
... some people/clubs are pretty concerned with 'what you see is what you get' (WYSIWYG) and all wargear must be present on the model in question.
Man, that would suck! I am pretty sure I have built nothing to reflect how I would equip them, but just based on what I like the look of. Maybe going forward I will try to do a little more of that... Except that I have no idea what wargear I would upgrade because I don't have enough models built to actually play. What a dilemma! I guess now I get why some people are so into magnetizing.

Thanks for the help!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
326 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I use an absolute ton of magnets on vehicles and walkers, but never on my infantry models unless it's to swap a normal backpack for a jump pack on a Character I've concocted. I find with the small parts it's a bit too fiddly, plus I really care about the position of my models and often cut things apart and put them back together into very specific poses I'd hate to see nudged 'off' because of magnets.
I might have to look up how to magnetize, moving forward. I actually have enjoyed making my BA death company into sternguard vets because they have much better pose options than the other models I've built so far (scouts w/ sniper rifles and assault terminators are it for infantry, both are pretty static). I could totally understand being frustrated by something screwing that p, even a little!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
326 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
I have another question that I don't want to start a new thread for. With Grimaldus (BT chaplain) he can take cenobyte servitors, who apparently do nothing but soak wounds and give a FnP bubble. If you take servitors, can he still join a unit? If not, the servitors seem like they suck since they have no weapons and are easy to kill. That's a lot of points for guys to just stand there until they die (they cost more than a tactical marine, but with worse stats and no weapons). So, do they just join a unit with him, or what?
 
1 - 4 of 4 Posts
Top