Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im new to warhammer and have created an army after studying the codex. I will be mainly facing another chaos army and if i know my friend their is going to be a few close combat units in his army.

HQ
Abaddon the Despoiler - 275
Retinues- 4 Chaos Terminators - 160
all with lightning claws
(These will be in a land raider)

Troops
8 Khorne Bezerkers - 233
Skull Champion w/Power weapon
Rhino

10 Thousand son - 337
Aspiring Sorcerer
Wind of Chaos
Meltabombs
Rhino

10 CSM + 225
Aspiring Champion
1 Heavy Bolter
1 Plasma Gun
Rhino

Elites
3 Chaos Terminators - 125
Reaper Auto Cannon
2 combi-flamers

Reaper Auto Cannon
2 Combi-Flamers

Chaos Dreadnought - 125
Twin Linked Lascannon

Heavy Support
Land Raider - 220

Chaos Defiler - 170
Twin Linked Lascannon

This army comes to 1998 if im not mistaken. please help me out and tell me what you think. i do have a little bit of a tactical plan for these units but its very flexable. cheers

·
Registered
483 Posts
Hail,

Welcome to the service of the Ruinous Powers!
The list is pretty good. Now just for a few tweaks:

1) The CSM squad should lose the heavy bolter and replace with another plasma gun.(I'm assuming the squad layout is that its 'right from the box').
Mixing 1 heavy weapon and one assault/rapid fire weapon is not focused enough. 2 plasma guns, 2 flamers or 2 meltaguns, depending on your opposing forces is the best bet. Since you are facing Chaos, plasma guns in tandem should deal with most problems.

2) Dreadnaughts. Chaos Dreads are prone to shooting their own units, and with that twin-linked lascannon EVERYTHING on your side could be hurt. If you must absolutely have the Dread on your list, drop the Lascannon and replace with another Close combat weapon. I would drop imo.