Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,602 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
In the rulebook it says that wounds caused counts towards combat result. although a weapon that does d3 wounds would not kill more guys it would cause more wounds, so in theory adds to combat result. i can't find anything to contridict this.

Anyone spread any light
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
12 Posts
I reckon no because unless its a challenge where you get the overkill rule, then you can only get a point for the wounds models actually have as far as I can tell, but dont quote me on this one.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,602 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
well that was my initial theory, as otherwise why have the overkill rule in place? Its just finding the rule in the book in black and white to back that up. Bearing in mind i have to play against nathan who can be pretty anal about these things :)
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
129 Posts
According to Valtens rules I would say that you are correct and multiple wound causing weapons add the total number to res.

Valtens ruling is that his d3 wnds weapon add one wound to all combat res within 12" abd the total to his combat as normal.

That seems to make it clear although I can't find it in the rulebook so it may have dropped out of the new edition
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Under "wounds and removing casualties" it states that multiple causing wound weapons only affect models that have more than one wound. it also clearly states that any extra wounds on a model (not a character in a challenge where the overkill rule plays into affect) with only 1 wound, will be discarded and will not count towards your combat RES.

for example :

squad of Empire go up against a chaos lord with hellfire sword (d6 wounds after initial wound)

the Chaos lord kills 1 spearman, he does not get to roll again for d6 wounds on that model with only 1 wound.

however:

If the pikemens sergant were to challenge the Lord, once the lord inflicted one wound he would then roll a d6 for mutiple wounds since the sergent has 2 wounds, ie: getting a lot of overkill wounds.

This same effect comes into play vs. anything with multiple wounds, however its a wasted amount of points on a weapon you can only use in this fashion, unless you have some wicked plans :twisted:
 
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
Top