If the Nob was not in range of the weapon, he did not have to be removed. According to the rules, no matter how many shots you are firing if said shots can only reach the front row of models in your unit, then ONLY those models may be hit. Anything else is wasted shots. If you do 15 hits and then roll 5 total wounds, all those wounds come from the models actually within range. If there are only 3 models within range of the weapon, then all 5 wounds are applied to those 3 models and do not carry over into the rest of the squad. Same thing applies even if the Nob is the only model that is out of range, if such is the case, he cannot hit even, never mind wounded. BRB pg 22, subheading Check Range.
It's good to start a stirring debate Black Mage. No language is perfect and GW sort of made a mistake by forcing RAW. You can't really expect players to follow RAW if you have a problem with simple things like proof reading. I love GW, but sometimes their wording is far too amubiguous. What happens when RAW conflicts with RAW and there is no FAQ? A d6 roll usually, but many tournament players would really love to not have to rely on a d6 to decide something as important as the rules of the game they are currently playing the third turn of. Starting threads like this can help one argue a valid point, hopefully making the d6 roll an endangered animal.
That's what I read too Wraithlord, but while it makes the most sense, GW does not say which rule overrides which. Both rules are in direct conflict and neither has more sway from a RAW perspective. I could quote the rules for shooting, wounding and removing casualties till I'm blue in the face and he'll just keep pointing back to the rules about multi-wound models. Until GW specifically says which is the rule applied, I am at a loss. Maybe someone sees something difinitive that I do not however.
The "remove whole models" rule only kicks in when:
1. The unit contains more than one model with multiple wounds
2. Those models take wounds*
*this is the bit everyone skips over
This means that an IC in a squad who is the only model with more than one wound cannot be subjected to this rule.
If for example, you had two multi-wound ICs in a unit both with a 2+ armour save and the rest of the squad (single wound models) had 3+ armour saves, you would be using the mixed armour rules to assign wounds to each group when hit. The wounds affecting the IC group (2+ armour saves) could not be spread between the two ICs but should remove one of them first. If the 3+ armour group was in the majority they would be taking the wounds first anyway and you may never trigger the "and those models take wounds" clause.
21 - 25 of 25 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
A forum community dedicated to Warhammer, Warhammer 40K enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about Warhammer and Wargaming collections, miniatures, tactics, terrain, reviews, accessories, history, displays, models, styles, scales, reviews, accessories, classifieds, and more!