Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
If i have a Master with a Power claw and a storm bolter do both of my close combat attacks act as a power claw? or does 1 act like a basic close combat attack?
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
6,544 Posts
ALL your attacks count as being made with the power fist, not just one. So your Master will have three attacks at I5(0), and S8, which ignore armor saves. In a pinch, you can opt NOT to use the power fist, and fight with three regular I5 S4 attacks, but usually there's no reason to do that. Point is, you can opt to do it if you really want to. As OXC pointed out, you won't be double-armed, so you'll not be able to claim the bonus attack for that, but that's okay. Sometimes it's better to have the ranged weapon. Kind of depends on the rest of your army.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,688 Posts
This is a rule I have always loved--Even though you have two weapons to use to have more attacks, you can use those attacks all for the better weapon. :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Ok then, say i have a power fist and a lightning claw. Do i get benifits from both weapons on both of my attacks?
 

·
Jac "Baneblade" O'Bite
Joined
·
8,082 Posts
I wouldn't say so as the initative reduction represents the physical weight of the powerfist and the need to for time to surpass to gain momentuim in the swing. So for example I would say that you could choose to split your attacks between the two weapons. For example:

Say you have 3 attacks are and armed with a Power Weapon and a Power Fist. You could allocate 2 attacks to be attacking at your normal Initative with the Power Sword and then leave one to strike at Initative 1 with the Power Fist.

I could be wrong however, bearing in mind that I don't play that often. Can anybody in the dead certain know clarify?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
I wouldn't say so as the initative reduction represents the physical weight of the powerfist and the need to for time to surpass to gain momentuim in the swing. So for example I would say that you could choose to split your attacks between the two weapons. For example:

Say you have 3 attacks are and armed with a Power Weapon and a Power Fist. You could allocate 2 attacks to be attacking at your normal Initative with the Power Sword and then leave one to strike at Initative 1 with the Power Fist.

I could be wrong however, bearing in mind that I don't play that often. Can anybody in the dead certain know clarify?
Well what if your basic profile had 1 attack. You charge into close combat with a power weapon and a lightning claw. You now have 3 attacks. How is this distributed?

Or does the original theory work when you have 3 attacks and they all gain benifits/ disadvantages from all weapons?
 

·
Porn King!!!
Joined
·
8,137 Posts
IIRC, you must use ALL attacks with either weapon. So either all fist or all claw, not a mixture of both. I believe that the only model capable of bypassing this rule is Logan Grimnar.
 

·
Jac "Baneblade" O'Bite
Joined
·
8,082 Posts
IIRC, you must use ALL attacks with either weapon. So either all fist or all claw, not a mixture of both. I believe that the only model capable of bypassing this rule is Logan Grimnar.

I defer to somebody who plays on a reguler basis. My brain works in 'real' logic - not game/rules logic. I would take Wraiths word for it - not mine.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
I defer to somebody who plays on a reguler basis. My brain works in 'real' logic - not game/rules logic. I would take Wraiths word for it - not mine.
I appretiate the effort regardless. TY

things are alot clearer now, ty wraith
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
325 Posts
Well what if your basic profile had 1 attack. You charge into close combat with a power weapon and a lightning claw. You now have 3 attacks. How is this distributed?

Or does the original theory work when you have 3 attacks and they all gain benifits/ disadvantages from all weapons?
sorry to be anal but you'd only have two attacks as you need two lightening claws to get the plus one attack, you don't get it with one claw and an additional close combat weapon

you wouldn't gain all benefits from all weapons for all attacks but you should just use the claw as its a power weapon anyway but you re roll failed to wound rolls
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,848 Posts
sorry to be anal but you'd only have two attacks as you need two lightening claws to get the plus one attack, you don't get it with one claw and an additional close combat weapon

you wouldn't gain all benefits from all weapons for all attacks but you should just use the claw as its a power weapon anyway but you re roll failed to wound rolls
Having 2 CCWs gives you an extra attack. Just like having a pistol gives you an extra attack. I forget lightning claws right now off the top of my head, but 2 of them give you a bonus besides an extra attack, no?
 
1 - 20 of 34 Posts
Top