Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6,323 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, how do you play this? I've got a rift in the gaming group here. I'm leaving out which side I'm on as the whole thing has been a friendly conversation with everyone just trying to wrap their minds around it (I'm the only table-top experienced player and I'm new to X-Wing still).

Side A:

If the ship's base overlaps an Obstacle while moving along its chosen movement template it counts as having overlapped said Obstacle and thus the damage dice is rolled and actions are not allowed.

Side B:

The ship's maneuver template has to over lap the obstacle or the ship's base has to finish its move on the Obstacle for the damage dice to be rolled and actions to be disallowed.

Here's the rule text for those not in the know, though this game's rules are all hosted for free on the FFG website. Take that, GW :biggrin:

When a ship executes a maneuver in which either
the maneuver template or the ship’s base physically
overlaps an obstacle token, follow these steps:

1. Execute the maneuver as normal, but skip the
“Perform Action” step.

2. The player rolls one attack die. The ship then
suffers any damage or critical damage rolled
(see “Suffering Damage” on page 16).

Important: When overlapping an obstacle token,
the ship stays where it lands (on top of the token).
A ship that is overlapping an obstacle token during
the Combat phase cannot attack any ship but
may be targeted by other ships as normal.
Whaddaya think, Heretics?

·
Registered
3,689 Posts
Not up to date on rules, but don't you only move the flight stand once (aka from the beginning of the template to the end?), unless you have a collision, and then backtrack?

We have always played it as such

Place movement template
does template go over a debris field/asteroid/other? Y/N
does the flight stand's final resting place end up on a X/Y/Z at the end of its move, regardless if it collides? Y/N

----