Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
372 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A mortar unit can fire the mortar at targets they can't see, correct?

Also, no to-hit roll is required, it's just guessing the range, then rolling for scatter?

I see this information is in the rulebook, but I just want to make sure I've read it correctly.

Thanks!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
435 Posts
kelvingreen said:
A mortar unit can fire the mortar at targets they can't see, correct?

Also, no to-hit roll is required, it's just guessing the range, then rolling for scatter?

I see this information is in the rulebook, but I just want to make sure I've read it correctly.

Thanks!
almost right - you don't need to guess the range though! simply pick your target and then measure to see if your target is over your minimum range and within your maximum range... (if either is off, then your shot/s automatically miss and you don't get to try another target!)
also remember that when firing a barrage, the other 2 shots both scatter off the original shot!

things changed up like this because so many people were cheating with their range guessing such as leaning their arm across the table to pre-measure distances...

cheers!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
372 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Ah, I see. I'm taking "guess" to mean what it did back in 2nd Ed, when you really did have to guess how far it was.

Thanks for the clarification!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
325 Posts
However you still cannot shoot at harlequins as you still need to target them.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
372 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I hope to never face Harlequins!

It turns out that it's a moot point. I just double-checked my Codex, and mortars are the one heavy weapon I can't field. :roll:

Oh well, thanks for the clarifications anyway!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
435 Posts
dakari-mane said:
However you still cannot shoot at harlequins as you still need to target them.
phil's been asked to faq that as it was rather poorly worded... you should be able to auto-target harlies with indirect weapons as you don't never need line of sight to begin with!!!

cheers!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
325 Posts
experiment 626 said:
phil's been asked to faq that as it was rather poorly worded... you should be able to auto-target harlies with indirect weapons as you don't never need line of sight to begin with!!!

cheers!
2 points:
1) Its not poorley worded it is infact very clear. If you try to target the harlequins you are effected by their psychic power & need to roll to fire.
2) Who the fuck is phil & why would I care what he thinks?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
435 Posts
dakari-mane said:
experiment 626 said:
phil's been asked to faq that as it was rather poorly worded... you should be able to auto-target harlies with indirect weapons as you don't never need line of sight to begin with!!!

cheers!
2 points:
1) Its not poorley worded it is infact very clear. If you try to target the harlequins you are effected by their psychic power & need to roll to fire.
2) Who the fuck is phil & why would I care what he thinks?
yes it is poorly worded. indirect weapons never, for any reason need line of sight to fire at things - that's their advantage over all other weapons. they do however scatter really well when they can't see their target, but hey, you gotta have a downside!

who the hell is phil kelly? um, he's the guy who wrote the 'dex so i think you will care what he thinks!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
372 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
experiment 626 said:
[they do however scatter really well when they can't see their target, but hey, you gotta have a downside!
Okay, hang on. So there's a difference when they can't see their target? I don't think I caught that in the rulebook. Is it a 2D6 scatter instead of 1D6 or something like that?
 

·
Jac "Baneblade" O'Bite
Joined
·
8,082 Posts
From a logic point of veiw it doesn't really make sense for mortars not being allowed to shoot at Harlequinns. The mortar operators cannot see the enemy and are simply getting coordinates to shoot at from a observer on the battle feild. The Harlequinns have no idea that they are being shot at, the only problem is that the observer can't pinpoint the exact location of the Harlequinns for obvious reasons.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
252 Posts
Surely then it would fall under the old rules of pick a point and will ALWAYS scatter 2d6?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
18 Posts
kelvingreen said:
A mortar unit can fire the mortar at targets they can't see, correct?

Also, no to-hit roll is required, it's just guessing the range, then rolling for scatter?

I see this information is in the rulebook, but I just want to make sure I've read it correctly.

Thanks!
with mortars it is indirect fire yes, and as with ordanance weapons its a 2d6 scatter after guess range, but if there is a line of sight it becomes 1d6

in the next rulebook update these guess ranges will dissapear, due to powergamers that use this as a major loophole
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
238 Posts
Sorry how do they use it as a major loophole??
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,822 Posts
Peter Thorpe said:
kelvingreen said:
A mortar unit can fire the mortar at targets they can't see, correct?

Also, no to-hit roll is required, it's just guessing the range, then rolling for scatter?

I see this information is in the rulebook, but I just want to make sure I've read it correctly.

Thanks!
with mortars it is indirect fire yes, and as with ordanance weapons its a 2d6 scatter after guess range, but if there is a line of sight it becomes 1d6

in the next rulebook update these guess ranges will dissapear, due to powergamers that use this as a major loophole
Clarification, it's roll 2d6 and take the highest 1d6 for scatter when you do not have LOS. Same applies when firing non-Barrage Ordnance on the move.

As for the Harlies, I'm in the "you can't shoot at them without testing against Veil of Tears" group. Veil of Tears means you not only cannot see them, it means you don't even know they are there. If you don't know they are there, how are you going to target one of them as the target point for your IDF??
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
372 Posts
Discussion Starter #16
Peter Thorpe said:
with mortars it is indirect fire yes, and as with ordanance weapons its a 2d6 scatter after guess range, but if there is a line of sight it becomes 1d6
don_mondo said:
Clarification, it's roll 2d6 and take the highest 1d6 for scatter when you do not have LOS. Same applies when firing non-Barrage Ordnance on the move.
I don't see this in the Barrage weapons section, but I do see it in the Ordnance section. Can you point me to where it says the 2D6 scatter applies to mortars too?

Thanks!
 

·
Porn King!!!
Joined
·
8,137 Posts
BRB, pg 31, subheading Firing Barrages, paragraph 4, third last sentence in the paragraph :)

Note: this applies to ALL indirect barrage weapons.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
372 Posts
Discussion Starter #18
Ah, there it is, tucked away. Even after you told me where it was, it took me a couple of times to find it, as I was expecting it to be more clearly marked, rather than simply an "if not"!

Thanks!
 
1 - 19 of 19 Posts
Top