As far as I'm aware the Hammer of Wrath is always resolved at the units STR and AP-, and cannot be modified in any way. Similar to a Powerfist doesn't grant AP2 on Hammer of Wrath, neither do the smash rule.
Yep. Unless it specifically modifies Hammer of Wrath (like Curze's Nightmare Mantle deals D3 Hammer of Wrath; but still S6 and AP-) it is not modified by special rules.
I'm honestly surprised that there were no modifications for Tyranids Hammer of Wrath from what I've read (I though BioPlasma would have been at least an option for Hammer of Wrath at AP3, perhaps a D3+1 on MC's/FMC's).
It seems even GW have forgotten to use half of their special rules, but then again, I'm old school, and would prefer Codices to have modifications to Universal Special Rules etc.
A forum community dedicated to Warhammer, Warhammer 40K enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about Warhammer and Wargaming collections, miniatures, tactics, terrain, reviews, accessories, history, displays, models, styles, scales, reviews, accessories, classifieds, and more!