Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Jeep's and Harley's
Joined
·
1,997 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Mephy comes with 3 powers and at a quick reading of the FAQ it would seem on the face that he only gets 2 if he trades them in. This is not correct IMO.

The FAQ says that Libbies including Mephy in parentheses can trade in the powers they have for 2 new ones. Now I am thinking that they had to include him in this because he is not actually listed as a Librarian in his listing. This would be a general rule.

It goes on to say in the BRB that you keep rolling for powers until you reach whatever level the psyker is. In the FAQ it asks what level he is and answers that he is level 3. This is very specific. This would give him 3 rolls on whatever discipline you wanted.

What do you guys think?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,166 Posts
I think read on the face of it, he gets 3 powers, and he can trade 2 of them in for BRB powers, keeping a Codex one for the 3rd power.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
49 Posts
It states in the Rulebook FAQ that you can't have Codex powers with Rulebook powers, its 1 or the other. If you take in account the Swarmlord or Eldrad. Swarmy trades 4 powers and Eldrad trades in 3 ( even though he knows them all ). Njal knows them all, but can only trade in 2. I would argue since hes Masterly Level 3 he could trade in all 3 since the Rulebook says you can't use a power more than once per turn, and he is a level 3, so would need 3 powers to make him useful.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,166 Posts
Except now the Daemon codex REQUIRES you to use both codex and MRB powers :)

And ML:3 doesn't require 3 powers to be useful, as several powers are 2 warp tokens apiece, making them usable by ML:3 in addition to another power.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
398 Posts
and Grey Knights have to Hammerhand.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
287 Posts
The Basic rulebook says, on page 418 "A Paykers codex will usually state how many psychic powers the Psyker has. Where this is not the case, the Psyker has a number of Psychic powers equal to his Mastery Level."

The FAQ amended the BA codex to say Mephiston can replace his codex powers for 2 rulebook powers. If they had intended for him to have 3 they would have made a separate line or sentence for him, like they did for the Swarmlord. His Mastery Level is irrelevant because his codex tells you how many powers he has.

The rulebook FAQ says you cannot mix codex powers with rulebook powers. Since codex trumps rulebook the Daemons, Grey Knights, and Ezekiel of the Dark Angels are the exception. Since Mephiston's codex doesn't specify he ignores that rule then he does not get to mix and match. Sorry guys, Mephiston gets 3 codex powers or 2 rulebook powers.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
7,889 Posts
The Basic rulebook says, on page 418 "A Paykers codex will usually state how many psychic powers the Psyker has. Where this is not the case, the Psyker has a number of Psychic powers equal to his Mastery Level."

The FAQ amended the BA codex to say Mephiston can replace his codex powers for 2 rulebook powers. If they had intended for him to have 3 they would have made a separate line or sentence for him, like they did for the Swarmlord. His Mastery Level is irrelevant because his codex tells you how many powers he has.

The rulebook FAQ says you cannot mix codex powers with rulebook powers. Since codex trumps rulebook the Daemons, Grey Knights, and Ezekiel of the Dark Angels are the exception. Since Mephiston's codex doesn't specify he ignores that rule then he does not get to mix and match. Sorry guys, Mephiston gets 3 codex powers or 2 rulebook powers.
+1

You'll also note that ML 1 Blood Angels Libbys get two powers as well so the ML is pretty irrelevant with the Blood Angels it seems
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
287 Posts
+1

You'll also note that ML 1 Blood Angels Libbys get two powers as well so the ML is pretty irrelevant with the Blood Angels it seems
Codex Marine Librarians also get 2 powers but are ML1. There is definitely an argument for letting Mephiston have 3, since Tigurius gets 2 based on the FAQ but the digital codex says he gets 3. But, until it is written we cannot assume that is what they meant.
 

·
Autarch of Heresy
Joined
·
886 Posts
Eldrad knows 5 powers but can only trade in 4, just saying.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,323 Posts
A Blood Angels Librarian (including Mephiston) may use the psychic disciplines found in the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook, instead of those in Codex:Blood Angels. If he does so, generate two new powers from the Biomancy, Divination, Telepathy or Telekinesis disciplines (in any combination) before armies are deployed.

Nowhere does it say that good ol' Mephiston gets to take three powers if he chooses to go with the BRB powers. It even makes a point of including him specifically in saying that the psyker will get 2 new powers in lieu of the possibilities from the codex.

ie. psactionman has it right.
 
1 - 10 of 10 Posts
Top