Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The other day a group of us at the local store started talking about the past in how we used to see crazy armies and what armies we used to play.
Now I have been playing and enjoying this hobby for over 10 years and still going strong but I miss the old days. The days where you would see someone show up with an iron warriors army with 4 basilisks and be like I need to watch this game cause it's going to be fun to watch.
What was really nice was while the group of us were talking the toddlers and infants (people who have only been playing less than two years) who are much younger than us just sat there and listened to our tales of glories past and seeing their eyes light up with imagination as I tell them of a catachan army I had that was all flame. Every squad had a flamer and a heavy flamer, two hellhounds as 2 fast attack choices and the third was 3 heavy flamer sentinels. It was an army that made hoards cringe. But to see the young ones look on and ask questions was just priceless.
I guess what I'm saying is us veterans need to keep these stories going of the old days to keep the young intrigued. Oh and also like what was an army that was a favorite of yours from way back when. Like a strike force eldar army from eye of terror codex.
I hope to see some fun old lists.

·
Premium Member
2,512 Posts
These things still happen, I wouldn't worry. I spend a lot of time in a GW store, and the youth are keeping the game alive and well!

·
Registered
108 Posts
Story time kids!

Ages ago, during the time of the 3.5 Chaos Codex, I knew a guy who had an unstoppable World Eaters army. It was lead by an invincible Demon prince. This guy had a 4+ invulnerable save, 7+ attacks, and could move 24 inches in one turn. Oh, how the nerd rage was high.