Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
164 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

Am I correct in thinking now that the dwarf faq says the master engineer only needs to be within 3 inches for a war machine to use his Artillery Specialist rule that you can now choose which war machine will get to use it each turn?

This is the way the faq reads to me: "one war machine that is within 3 inches of a master engineer receives the following benifits"

Does this mean that if I have say a grudge thrower and a cannon close together, I can first fire the grudge thrower and re-roll my artillery die (if I get a bad scatter or a misfire) but if I don't need to then I can shoot my cannon and get D6 wounds with it?

Can I choose which war machine I use the artillery specialist rule with as needed every turn?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,166 Posts
Yes, I read it that way. However, remember nothing can be within 1" of another piece except in HTH. So it might be a difficult proposition to position two War Machines that close together.
 

·
WFB Moderator
Joined
·
8,248 Posts
Yes, I read it that way. However, remember nothing can be within 1" of another piece except in HTH. So it might be a difficult proposition to position two War Machines that close together.
Not really- put them 6" apart and have the master engineer int he middle.
Personally

I would want the dwart player to declare which machine had the engineer's benefits active upon it since it says "one war machine that is within 3"" not "once per turn one war machine that is within 3" can..." so long as the engineer only affecting 1 war machine's shooting a turn I wouldnt have any issue with the governed machine changing at any point in the game.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
164 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Cool I'll just nominate at the start of the shooting phase then, probably the best idea.

I've just noticed another problem though.

The army book writes that the cannons use the standard cannon rules in the main warhammer rulebook and the faq does not state anything different for this.

The rulebook states that the cannon will do D6 wounds. The Master Engineer section in the FAQ states that if he is near a cannon it will cause "D6 wounds rather than D3 wounds". So the M. Engineer makes it do exactly as many wounds as the rulebook entry says it does?

Unless I'm missing something this seems to be a glaring error by GW.
 
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
Top