Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

· Registered
Joined
·
2,844 Posts
So, the reason for Chaos Focus is actually because of Level 2+ Marked Chaos Psykers. Let me explain.

The Aspiring Sorcerer that comes with Rubric Space Marines is a Level 1, and he has the Mark of Tzeentch.

Based on the rules in the CSM codex, he MUST generate 1, and up to half from his god. There is no loophole here, if flat out says MUST ROLL AT LEAST ONE (page 70). It doesn't say 'must have'. It says must roll.

if you're rolling, you gain your Primaris. If you're rolling on Tzeentch, you gain's Tzeentch's Primaris. If you're level 1, then it's a non-issue; you gain your Primaris the same way a level 1 Loyalist would gain their Primaris.

When you're level 2, things get complicated. You MUST ROLL one power, but you CAN'T roll two powers, because it says 'may roll up to half'. This disqualifies you from maxing out and getting the Primaris. That's why Chaos Focus exists; so you always have the Primaris from the Mark table as a consolation prize.

TL:DR - No.


Addendum: I'm not speaking about Chaos Demons. I don't know how they work, honestly. I'm fairly certain, however, that the Chaos Focus only applies to MARK of chaos, so Demons don't qualify to get bonus powers (such as Horrors taking Daemonology and also getting the Tzeentch Primaris).

Addendum2: Just looked up the rule again. Yes, it looks like Horrors could get away with it. Demons can skip rolling on the god's powers, but Chaos Psychic Focus still gives it to them. THAT is the loophole, since it's meant to be one Psychic Focus or the other.
 

· Registered
Joined
·
2,844 Posts
I can find no mention of this 'Chaos Focus' you guys bring up in the CSM 'dex. Based on what I read in the Codex, the only way a Chaos psyker can get psychic focus on a table is if they are ML1. What's all this about 'Chaos Focus'? Even in the Daemon book I can't find this sentence anywhere:

Where's it at?? :scratchhead:
It's in the BRB actually, on the same page as the Psychic Focus rule.

RAI, it'd be one or the other. However, shoddy writing has left it that demons get to doubledip.
 

· Registered
Joined
·
2,844 Posts
Pink Horrors generate their powers from the Change table only, and as such would get normal Psychic Focus without needing Chaos Psychic Focus. How do they get to skip rolling or gain powers from another discipline?

It's in the most recent (and I use that term loosely) GW errata for Demons: Any psyker or Brotherhood of Psyker model in the codex can take Daemonology on top of their usual powers.

As INTENDED, Horrors could take Daemonology and get the free Primaris.

As WRITTEN, they take Daemonology, get the free Primaris, and get the Change Primaris.
 

· Registered
Joined
·
2,844 Posts
Is it really that much of a problem? Unless I'm mistaken (and at the risk of starting a whole other discussion) psykers can only cast a number of powers equal to their mastery level.
Additional shoddy rules-writing.

The exact quote from the rules is: The number of powers they can cast is dependent on their level. HOWEVER, it never clearly states HOW it's dependent.

General consensus is that since level dictates how many powers they can learn, then that's how many they can cast.

There is another line further in the psychic rules that basically say 'keep casting till you run dry of dice'.

(Can you tell I've had this discussion recently?)
 
1 - 5 of 5 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top