Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

· Registered
Joined
·
135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Quick question here. (again about FNP.... I hate that rule)

Lucius' special rule "Armour of Shrieking Souls" states that "for every successful power armour or invulnerable save Lucius makes in close combat, the unit causing the wound immediately suffers a str 4 hit that ignores armour saves."

My question is "If a unit with FNP attacks Lucius and he makes saves against their attacks, then wounds them with his armour do they get their FNP against those wounds?"
 

· Registered
Joined
·
135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I'd agree with that, Yriel's Eye of Wrath is another example.
Yriel's Eye of Wrath is greatly different. It has str 6 and AP 3. AP 3 doesn't "ignore armour saves." The Armour of Shrieking Souls says that it ignores armour saves.

Really if you want to compare the Armour of Shrieking Souls to anything it would be The Nightbringer who has the Gaze of Death attack. Would you get FNP against the Gaze of Death? I think it counts as a CC attack and ignores armour saves. Does that meet the qualifications to ignore FNP? I think so.

Besides the Armour of Shrieking Souls states that "the unit causing the wound immediately suffers a strength 4 HIT that ignores armour saves." I assume because this can only happen in close combat that the HIT counts as being a wound caused by something in CC, that ignores armour saves. So why wouldn't it ignore FNP?
 

· Registered
Joined
·
135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Sure.

But is the armor a Weapon?

FNP says it doesn't work against "Close Combat Weapons that ignore Armour Saves" not hits or effects or even wargear.

Strictly speaking, the armor isn't a weapon, nor does it act like a weapon (Like a servo arm would).
Its Armour that attacks.... Sounds like a weapon to me. The to hit roll you may ask? Well thats the roll to save.

The Armour of Shrieking Souls doesn't say that it provides a 3+ armour save or a 5+ invulnerable save. He just has that. What it does say is that if he makes an armour or invulnerable save in close combat, whatever hit him takes a hit back, (which only happens in close combat!) Its a hit not an automatic wound. It is happening in close combat (the hit). It has a strength 4 and ignores armour saves. Think of it as a weapon that hits automatically, but only gets to attack in close combat after Lucius makes a save.
 
1 - 3 of 3 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top